Set Apart To Fulfill God’s Plan

The Truly You Purpose Project

The Truly You Purpose Project God Knows and Loves You Anyway

Truth Tip #3

God Set You Apart  

 To Fulfill His Plan For Your Life.

It’s week three of The Truly You Purpose Project. So far, we’ve learned you are of sacred worth, and God’s love is unconditional…he loves you…no matter what. While you may have already known these things intellectually, I hope you have now enveloped them in your heart and invested them into your soul as they are foundational to moving forward and living truly you.

This week, we step into Truth Tip #3 of our life purpose project and realize God set you apart to accomplish his specific plan for your life.

Truth Tip #3 

God Set You Apart To Fulfill His Plan For Your Life.

…before you were born I set you apart;

Jeremiah 1:5

I’m married. For the second time. Divorce was not part of my plan.  Frankly, it wasn’t God’s plan for my life either. In hindsight, perhaps neither was my first marriage.

Back then…1981…I didn’t think much about God having a plan for me. I was much too focused on myself for that. I definitely had a vision for my life, my marriage, and future family. Unfortunately, I don’t recall that I included God in the picture except for maybe church-going on Sundays. I claimed Christ as my Savior, attended bible studies, prayed and read scripture, but my faith wasn’t deep enough to know I could trust God in and with everything…even my life partner…even my dreams. I didn’t know how to be brave and listen to God’s voice, to view circumstances as signposts on the path to my first marriage.  I didn’t know God set me apart and had a specific plan for my life.  A plan to accomplish his purposes and bring me joy along the way.

I know now…and it has made all the difference.

Your Role In God’s Plan Is Significant

…God, who set me apart from birth and called me by his grace, was pleased to reveal his Son in me so that I might preach him among the Gentiles…

Galatians 1:15

When we set something or someone apart, we do so to keep it or her separate for the right purpose, place, and time. We separate good china from the everyday dishes for use on special occasions. When we bake, we set apart the dry ingredients from the wet until the right time. We separate our music on play lists based on our moods and preferences.  We set apart people for different jobs at our offices to bring optimum results. Setting apart has purpose.

In this scripture from Galatians, the apostle Paul reconfirmed the calling God had on his life…this ‘setting apart’ that occurred from birth. Paul testified that God lovingly and specifically selected, separated, and meant for him to complete a plan. Not Paul’s plan, God’s plan.

Paul’s plan was to persecute Jews…and he was good at it! But God knew all along the winding roads Paul would choose to take and he used them to strengthen and empower Paul’s testimony of Christ’s love to the Gentiles…eternally life~changing to those of us who are not Jewish!

Paul’s role in God’s plan is significant. So is yours.

Your role is significant

If you are anything like Paul ~ or me ~ in setting out to follow your own plans, you need to know that you have been set apart from birth to make a way for the completion of God’s great plan and glory. His plan includes your roles, personality, relationships, giftedness, location, experiences, faith, and even the ashes resulting from wrong choices.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purposes.

Romans 8:28

Through my first marriage, I was gifted an incredible son.  I gained a whole lot of wisdom, and my relationship with Christ grew deeply. God has used my past to create a desire in me to help other women draw close to him and know and accept his plan for their lives. In doing this, I live God’s plan for my life and bring glory to his name.

Step forward into God’s plan for your life.  Be truly you!

You can make many plans, but the Lord’s purpose will prevail.

Proverbs 9:21

Purpose Prayer

God, forgive me for making my days all about me and my plans. Please open my eyes, ears, and heart to know and accept your will for my life. Thank you for somehow using my mistakes and misdirection for my good and greater impact for your kingdom, greatness, and glory. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Purpose Step

Write down the plan you have for your life. After praying and reading scripture, do you sense God has something different in mind for you? Are the differences small tweaks or huge leaps? Perhaps you’re right on target! In any case, praise God for his plan and ask that he reveal specifically how he wants to use you for his glory.

Listen to Your HeartSong Here

Set Apart/Worship Central

-Written by: Gail Armatys