Sometimes I think too much…

By: Vivian Wilson

It’s a strange thing.  It seems my brain is taking a vacation.  Really.  I am in Florida, sitting on my balcony looking out over a beautiful white sand beach at the Gulf of Mexico.  The water is as smooth as glass.  But I don’t know where my brain is.

I expected in this perfect, peaceful, uninterrupted space to be filled with an abundance of profound insightful thoughts which I would put on paper and share making the world a better place.

But, alas, my brain has deserted me.  So I’m pretty sure you will probably not find anything particularly brilliant and profound or insightful in the following words.  (As if.  I’m still waiting for that to happen).

I am resting.  I am here with my sister and we are pretty much living each day without a schedule.  We have done some fun things.  We took a two hour jet ski tour of Shell Island where we found sand dollars and held a star fish.  We also held a jelly fish!  Gasp!  There are actually jelly fish that don’t have tentacles so they don’t sting.  I played 18 holes of golf on an uncrowded course.  We have listened to good music and enjoyed good food.  We have spent hours on the beach.  (Another opportunity for deep thinking which did not happen).

Perhaps this week is yet another example where my plan, though a good one, was not God’s plan.  I’ve been thinking too much, if that’s possible.  I’ve made a life changing decision.  I had made an emotional decision to buy or rent a house.  But after weighing all the facts and listening to the advice of my sons, I made a logical decision.  It makes more sense to stay where I am.  I am so blessed to have children who offer to make their home my home also.  They truly want me to live with them.

Though the decision was logical it was not easy.  It is much easier to avoid change and to choose to stay in the “normal” where it is comfortable.  But change encourages growth.

There you have it—just a bunch of random thoughts because that is all I’ve got right now until my brain returns.  For now I accept that God has given me exactly what I need this week.  He has given me a time to relax my body, mind, and soul, resting in Him.  He has given me time to enjoy the beauty of His creation with my wonderful sister.  I am grateful.

It doesn’t take a genius to know that in the absence of profound thoughts is the simple truth that God is here with me and that is all I need to know.

Psalm 46:10  Be still and know that I am God.

Hebrews 13:5  I will never leave you or forsake you.

A work in progress,

Vivian

P.S.  I hope my brain, wherever it is, is getting renewed as much as I am.