What a Wonderful World

By: Ms. O

THE BEST VIEW

As I sit and hold my newborn granddaughter….see her eyes open to take in what the world has to offer….I could not help but imagine what she is seeing. There is an excitement in my soul as I think of all she will learn…because everything is new….for her….the wonder of this world. As I looked at her….I had a soundtrack playing in the background…in my mind of course… into her big eyes….

“I see trees of green, red roses too, I see them bloom for me and you…and I think to myself

What a wonderful world

I see skies of blue and clouds of white, the bright blessed day, the dark sacred night….and I think to myself….what a wonderful world

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky, or also on the faces of people going by, I see friends shaking hands, saying “How do you do?” They’re really saying, “I love you”

I hear babies crying, I watch them them grow, they’ll learn much more and I’ll never know….and I think to myself….what a wonderful world”

No one will ever sing that song better than Louis Armstrong……period….end of statement.  If ever a time God sang through someone…it was this song….through Mr. Armstrong. And if ever a time that we need a reminder….it is now…right now.

Our lives are consumed…taken over….with all that is bad in the world…taking our eyes off the focus….the simplistic things in life…that we tend to take for granted.

Our different a day would be….if we paused….between here….and there….and took it in. We take for granted that the sun comes up in the morning….the air we breathe is a perfect mix of what is needed to sustain life….grass grows….flowers bloom….the day progresses without any effort on our behalf. At times it can be overwhelming….as John Mayer crones…”stop this train, I want to get off and go home again”…..but the day does not stop….it goes on with or without us.

It seems we have lost the wonder of it all. Our lives are so fast paced…getting from point A to point B….with no time to stop….and take in….the wonder. That does not mean we can ignore the atrocities of life…because that is what propels us to do justice….but that can’t be our entire focal point…otherwise all that God created…with you and me in mind…is wasted.

I am making it part of my day to notice at least three things that point to God…that reveal the very nature of God…Creator….Sustainer…Life Giver….and celebrate….Him.

“Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe.” Hebrews 12:28

I am not such a rose-colored, glass-half-full, kind of a girl that I don’t see what is wrong with the world. But I do see what CANNOT be shaken…and that is the kingdom He created….in Heaven….and when we take notice of it…here on Earth.

I know when my kids were little and we would go on vacation….it was all about pointing things out for them to see….so they would not miss “it”…..just as God tugs on my “running out the door with my tail on fire” demeanor saying, ‘Look…don’t miss this….I created it….with you in mind. Don’t miss the wonder….it is all around you….open up your eyes….and ears….and take notice.”

I think to myself…..what a wonderful world….amen.