Where Life Purpose Begins

Spirit of Love

Life Purpose Begins With Love

Reading the newspaper taught me to love. Not very romantic, I know.  I’ll explain.

I have friends who no longer read the paper, scan the Internet, or watch the news to learn of the daily atrocities and heartache of the world. It’s too much. They say they’ve been happier since they’ve stopped receiving all the negative information.

I totally get it. I’d be happier not knowing, too, I suppose. Still, as I learn the headlines I shake my head and more than once have been brought to tears. Today, rather than tears, this song popped into my head…

What the world needs now is love

Click the photo to listen to “What The World Needs Now Is Love”.

An oldie-goldie, and truer words were never sung. What the world needs now is love…your sweet love, to be exact.

Love ~ Essential To Life Purpose

Love. The word is often overused and its message seems worn. But if you want to know and live fully your God-inspired life purpose, love is the most essential and foundational piece to stepping forward. In fact, we are commanded to love.

I am giving a new commandment to you now – love each other just as much as I love you. Your strong love for each other will prove to the world that you are my disciples.

John 13:34-35

The key to love is in verse thirty four of the scripture above: ‘love each other just as much as I love you.’ In order to love like Christ, your first step is to experience his love.

Seems easy enough. But experiencing Jesus’ love is more than a knowing in your head. It is an ongoing act of surrender. Sometimes we forget as our days overwhelm us that the greatest lover of them all loves us. God has infiltrated, poured out, covered, and smothered us with his love ~ heart, mind, and soul.

How then, will we respond?

Love Is Action

Greater love has no one than this; that he lay down his life for his friends.

John 15: 13

Jesus acted on his love and laid down his life for his friends. Love is more than a word. Love is action. Love is a verb.

Matt Neely, a Youth Pastor in year’s gone by and now a Senior Pastor, wrote many songs. One was entitled, Yawns are Contagious. Funny…and accurate! It inspired the youth. It inspired me, too. No, not to yawn. What caught my attention was the repeated lyric: love is a verb.

God used Matt’s song as a catalyst to bring about change in my life. All those years ago, as I listened to Matt sing love is verb, my eyes were opened to the real meaning of love.

Learning To Love

If you’ve ever wondered if you make a difference or if your contributions matter, look for those who need your love.

Giving of yourself on behalf of the daily and eternal well being of another exemplifies love and draws you into your life purpose. Your heart may break for the hungry, homeless, sick, lonely, beaten, abandoned or enslaved. Go to them. For knowing and living your unique God-designed life purpose begins by intentionally seeking to love others and it is foundational to living a life of joy.

Follow Your Heart

As I continue to read and watch the news learning of the tragedy, the horror, the poor, lonely, and needy I see and hear God calling you and me to act.

I am moved to tears. My heart breaks. I pick up the phone. I serve. I love.

What breaks your heart?

Whatever it is…go, serve, love.

Purpose Steps

What breaks your heart? What brings you to tears? Find out how you can help and where God is calling you to love.

Purpose Prayer

Lord, I am sorry for all the times I was too proud, too afraid, and too stubborn to love where you needed me most. I pray to go and to love like you love me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.