Jesus Loves Me, This I Know

By: Ms. O

worry

There is much to be said of being sure of things. It truly takes the worry about of living…life……in uncertain times.

I know that no matter what time of the day I turn on the television, I can catch an episode or two…or five…of Law & Order. The original….Criminal Intent…SVU…I really don’t care which one. I most likely have seen it before but that does not stop me from watching it…again.

It would take a major plague….as in eliminating every other team in the league… to change the fact that… the Phillies will not make the play offs. I have been a fan for way too long to think differently…it is something I know..for sure.

I am certain of the fact that having children was one of the hardest, most rewarding, “things” I have ever done…or will do…in my life. At times I wondered if I would make it…but I did…which makes that fact of being on this side of it…so much sweeter.

I also know that seeing my granddaughter is sure to bring a smile to my face. It is with no shame that I will break down into “baby talk”…make silly faces…try my best to get her attention…and tell myself that although everyone says it is gas…she IS smiling…at me.

The biggest certainty I have in my life…what I count on more than anything…is that God loves me. I may mess up…okay…no “may” about it…I mess up…too often to think about…but He loves me. I miss the mark…ignore what He calls me out to do…but He continues to love me.

I wonder at times why I get so eat up with what I have no clue about. Why do I allow myself to get worked up over things that “may or may not” happen. We live in such volatile times…oil prices fluctuating….stock market read outs looking like a wicked roller coaster that I want no part of…news reports that make me question if there is anything good to be said…and whether Blue Bell is really back for good….ugh.

I have come to realize that God does not want me occupied with uncertain things but instead to attach myself to what I know is true.

I mean really…..I need my eyes to be glued to the red letters…the spoke Word of Christ….

“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”….Matthew 6:27

My heart, mind, soul and strength needs a little…more like huge…reminder…that my biggest concern is taken care of…I KNOW Who has my heart in the palm of His mighty hand…and leads me daily through whatever “uncertainty” goes on around me.

“And so we know and RELY on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.”….1 John 4:16

If that does not give you a easier sleep tonight…or a reason to get up in the morning…I don’t know what will. As I hear God whisper to the depths of my soul….”never question my love for you….for I created you…so move forward with confidence…and certainty of Whose you are.”

I get it, God…really I do…I just need a reminder when life gets hazy…and you are so good at helping clear my vision…calm my nerves….and then push me on to the life that You have made for me. I am certain with my fiber of my being…that I am Your child, God….and am thankful that I can count on that…now and always.

Amen