White Space

By: Amy Dalke

I have stared at my computer screen for the last 3 hours. I’ve written paragraphs after paragraph, only to group them together under my cursor and delete-delete-delete.

There are at least 14 things I want to share with you, and not one of those things will come together succinctly. After asking God to please not leave me hanging with nothing to write, I’m reminded that the purpose of this blog is God’s purpose and not mine.

So may it never be that I write here for the sake of words.

Sometimes routine can blind us from our purpose. Our motions become mechanical. We’re good enough to get by on our own steam, so we lose sight of the reason we started in the first place.

I don’t know what that looks like for you. But with that in mind, I invite you to glance across your week for a minute. Picture your calendar full of morning routines, workday habits, after school snacks, and bed time patterns.

white space clouds

 

Have you left any room for God’s creativity to show up? Or is each time block nailed down so tightly that divine interference would be more of an irritation?

Wouldn’t life be a little more exciting if we lived beyond our box? Wouldn’t life be more carefree (less stressful) if we didn’t have to figure it all out on our own?

As you look at your schedule, your meetings, your plans, I challenge you to leave some white space.

white space sky

Be bold and let go of your own agenda for each hour…and see your life this week as an invitation for an adventure with God.

Amy