What if you could have a life-long VACATION?

By: Vivian Wilson

Life Long vacation

I’m beginning to feel the excitement that comes when something I am looking forward to isn’t so far in the future.  As the day draws nearer, (15 days, but who’s counting?), the dream of my vacation will become a reality.  I can hardly wait.

But it’s “deja vus all over again” as Yogi would say.  Last year I thought I was going to Reddington Beach, Florida with friends.  I ended up going alone.  This year I am going to Panama City Beach, Florida with a friend, I think.  But I could be going alone.  This year for sure, positively, without a doubt, I will have a balcony.  (I know this because I double-checked–every room has a balcony).

So for the next two weeks I have the opportunity to adjust my attitude, to prepare my mind and my heart to be open to the work of the Holy Spirit as He prepares my for the long anticipated week of rest on the beach.

Hopefully, I learned something from last year’s experience.  From the day I left home on Friday to travel to Florida I was not happy.  My plans weren’t working out the way I had wanted.  By Sunday, I had begun to surrender my will to God’s will and by Friday, I was keenly aware of the blessings God had poured out on me throughout the week and His never-ending intimate presence.

This year, I want to begin my journey aware of His presence, expecting to see His grace and mercy every moment as He draws me closer.  I want to focus my heart and mind on Him and not on myself.  I want to hear His voice, obey, and be changed.  Isn’t this the attitude I should have every day of my life and not just when I am on vacation?

Of course it is!  So why isn’t it?

When I am at the beach, or any place away from home, I am away from the distractions that are an integral part of everyday life.  Some of these distractions are responsibilities that scream for my attention.  Some are expectations that others place on me or I place on myself.  Other distractions are my needs, both real and perceived.  Relationships can be a distraction.  There are many things common to man that vie for priority in our heart, mind, and soul.  But that place of prominence belongs to only One, and it was bought at a high price.

While it may be a little easier to keep my eyes on God when I am away from home and its distraction, I am not excused from having that same attitude when I am in the daily grind of life.  And just because I am not on a beach somewhere, but living life where God has put me, I don’t have to let distractions take my eyes off of my Savior.  I can begin each day in a quiet place.  For me, I shut the door of life when I sit in my “blue chair” and read His Word.  We meet and I know I am in His presence.  It is a precious time.

Unfortunately, many days when I open up the door of life again and begin my day, I allow those pesky, persistent, distractions to drift in and take control, forgetting Who is really in control.

What if I lived every day as if I were on vacation?  The word “vacation” stems from the latin word “vacatio”, which means freedom from something.  What if I could be free from the stress and worries that invade my mind causing me to think from an earthly perspective instead of a heavenly one robbing me of joy and peace?

Praise God, I can!  I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.  I can choose who sits on the throne of my heart.  I can choose to rest in Him.

I’m on vacation.  Right here.  Right now as I am at work in Katy, Texas.  This can be a life-long vacation where ever I am.  I am always in His presence.  He will never leave me.  He will give me rest and peace when I remain in Him.

I’m still looking forward to my trip to Florida.  I can’t wait to find out what God has planned for me on the balcony.

Colossians 3:2 Set your minds on things above, and not on earthly things.

Philippians 4:8,13 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.  I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

Matthew 11:28 Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Matthew 22:37,38 Jesus replied: “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.  This is the first and greatest commandment.

A work in progress,

Vivian