Do you live a carefree life in Christ?

By: Vivian Wilson

Carefree Life

You know what I miss?  I miss the care-free feeling that I felt as a kid when summer ushered in three months of fun and a much more relaxed time schedule.  Oh, I still had responsibilities, I called them chores, but they were accomplished fairly quickly, which left me free to play all day until it was time to go back inside for dinner.  The beginning of summer meant the end of another school year.

For me, school was about learning.  I never had a study hall or easy class in my schedule.  The easiest class I had was P.E.  So for nine months I studied, did homework (at home), and tried to learn all I was expected to.  Summer was a welcome break from serious study.

Back then, time passed at a comfortable pace, not too fast and not too slow.  How different it is today.  This summer has flown by.  Unlike the summers of my youth, there is not a “break” from lessons.  Of course there were always “life lessons”, but somehow they were intermingled with and obscured by the care-free activities of the day.

Does life as a “seasoned” adult have to be so serious?  Or more to the point, does the life of a disciple of Christ have to be so serious or solemn all the time?  A disciple is a learner.  I am learning to live a holy life, a life that reflects the truth of God’s Word, His principles, His promises, His character, and His commandments. Life as a follower of God can be hard.  In fact it will be difficult and painful at times.  But I’m pretty sure I am offered the experience of “summer bliss” in my walk as a disciple of Christ.

This care-free joy comes only when I stop trying so hard to be perfect and stop over-thinking everything.  There is a fine line between taking responsibility for my words and actions, and taking control of the cause and effect of God’s plan for me.  The former requires trust and surrender to the One Who is all-knowing, all- powerful, good and loving.  The latter is driven by fear, pride, and a lack of trust.  I make life seem like too much work when I try to take control of it.

It has been too long since I have ceased striving and the result has been failure to enjoy life to the fullest.  It’s time to live care-free.  I don’t mean irresponsibly but  dependently.  All I have to do is surrender everything to Jesus and trust Him Who is good and loving toward is children.  My soul can then enjoy the freedom that is already mine in Christ.

The “summer bliss” isn’t reserved for the young only.  On the contrary, it is for the young at heart, those of us who are learning to trust and depend with a child-like faith.  It is not only enjoyed for a few weeks in the summer, but available every day of my life.  Striving is not the answer.  Trusting and abiding in Him, praising Him with a grateful heart, and delighting myself in Him are all I need to do.

Soooo, if you see me walking around with a goofy grin on my face, or even laughing out loud, don’t worry, it’s just a sign that I am living a care-free day.

Psalm 28:7  The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.  My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.

1 Peter 5:7  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

John 8:36  So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

A work in progress,

Vivian