What’s Your Life Vision?

By Gail Armatys

Life Vision?  What’s That?

Several years ago I was on my way out the door to work when I realized I didn’t have my purse. I went to my usual ‘purse spot’ but it wasn’t there. I looked high and low. Finally lifting my arms up (I’d like to tell you I was preparing to praise God for the opportunity to draw closer to him in my frustration…but I wasn’t.) and then down giving a heavy sigh, my left hand hit something as it dropped. My purse. It was hanging from my shoulder where I apparently absentmindedly put it…right before I started searching for it. I know…

Maybe you’ve never searched for the purse hanging on your shoulder (although it would make me feel better if you said you had.), but maybe you are seeking your life vision. If so, consider this; perhaps it’s already there within you…you just haven’t recognized it.

Recognizing your God-inspired vision is often difficult because all the ‘stuff’ and obstacles of life get in the way.  And frankly…the absent-minded running around we do helps keep us preoccupied. But living out who God created you to be and what he purposed you to do is crucial because it allows you to be most fully you! It is not surprising then, that your God-designed life vision is also the deepest, godly craving of your heart.

Life Vision

You Say Vision, Paul Says Ambition

Vision is an awareness of how God wants to use you in a bold way to accomplish his purposes.

What you and I may refer to as our vision, craving, calling or dream, Paul refers to as his ambition…

“It has always been my ambition to preach the gospel where Christ was not known, so that I would not be building on someone else’s foundation.”

Rom. 15:20

Like Paul, whatever your most godly life vision or ambition… it is exactly what God has purposed you to do.

What does knowing your God-designed life vision require?

Knowing God’s vision for your life requires you to be patient while you wait to receive it. Yes, I used the ‘p’ word.

For when your patience is finally in full bloom,

Then you will be ready for anything,

Strong in character, full and complete.

James 1:4

Remember, Abraham was 75 and Sarah 65 when God promised them a child. Twenty-five years later, God fulfilled his vision. What happened in those twenty-five years is best described as character development or overcoming sin: the prideful desire to control (trying to fulfill the promise on their own – Gen. 16) and disbelief (laughing at God’s promise – Gen 17 & 18). Abraham and Sarah had to grow their character and faith before they were ready to receive the promise. After an extended period of waiting, God fulfilled his vision…their godly dream, the birth of their son.

And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.

Heb. 6:15

While You Wait For Your Life Vision

God wants to grow and strengthen you as you patiently wait to receive his vision for your life. Here are four biblical references that will prepare you while you wait.

1. Incline Your Ear and Come to Me. (Isaiah 55:3)
The God of all creation invites you to come and listen to him. You have to be in God’s presence to learn what he has specifically for you. As you read Scripture, pay attention to the Holy Spirit’s promptings, and contemplate God’s word, you will become sensitive to his guidance and revelation.

2. Be Thankful and Worship God With Reverence and Awe (Heb. 12:28)
Remember, God is God and you are not. Bow in awe of the One who created you for a purpose. Seek forgiveness for your sins and desire to control. Surrender to his leading and great love for you.

3. Go and Bear Fruit (John 15:16)
Jesus teaches us to bear fruit. Go…serve…love. As we bear fruit in his name, we mature. “Then”, John 15:16 tells us, “the Father will give you whatever you ask in my name.” Step out and serve and then, while serving, ask to receive a glimpse of your life vision. Although his vision is already planted in your heart, you may have not realized it is there. (I refer you to the story of the purse.)

4. Have Faith In God (Mark 11:22)
Jesus reminds us repeatedly; when our prayers are dedicated to God’s perfect will and spoken in faith…they will be answered. It’s true, often you must wait for God’s response. But while you wait for him consider this; perhaps he is waiting for you.

Seek to know your life vision ~ the one God inspired and designed for you. It is there, written on your heart. Then, be patient. As you wait for him, it is likely he waits for you.

Purpose Prayer

Father, only you would think to match the desires written deep within my heart to your grand purposes. I pray to be intentional and patient as you reveal your plans for me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Purpose Steps

1. Search your heart and write down your greatest, godly ambition.
2. Can you see how your godly dream – your life vision – and God’s desire for your life are aligned? If so, how? If not, pray for clarity and God’s will.
3. Are you experiencing a time of waiting? Could it be there is sin in your life that requires surrender?
4. What Christ-like character traits might you need to develop while you wait for a glimpse of your life vision?

Listen to Your HeartSong! (Click the link below.)

Surrender/Lincoln Brewster