You remind me of home…

By: Ms. O

Reminders of Home

There are dozens of songs that speak of home. They are sung with longing…a desire for what home represents: a deep yearning for comfort…familiarity…security. That becomes even more clear…when I am away.

I have spent a lot of nights away this summer. It is the nature of the beast. I have a duffle bag that keeps my bedding. I switch out sheets…air mattress…egg crate…fresh pillows…to accommodate where I will lay my head…for the duration of the camp/mission trip.  I bring my creature comforts with me…so I feel like I am home…when I am not.

I was reminded though…this past trip… what “home” truly is. Each morning….very early… I would make my way down to the most popular spot in camp….the coffee pot. One by one, others early birds would wander in…fill their cup….and gather around the table. Numbers grew…room was made…to include whoever ventured in before the official wake up time. Jokes were made…light hearted jabbing…a gentle, joyful start of the day.

That routine became the rhythm of camp. That cohesiveness that comes from home…away from home. I came on these trip for one purpose…to serve the Lord…but He surprised me…. as He usually does….by serving me. I loved being one of the first ones there simply to be witness to each new arrival…knowing they sought the same thing. A call to gather…to be a part of the new day dawning. By day three, I felt as if God was sitting at the table with me…part of the ritual…the crew that made sure each and every one that came in….belonged.

There is nothing wrong with wanting to be home…but I have come to realize home is not just a place…it is also a state of mind.

Home is wherever my heart sings…where Love whispers in my ear, “Welcome to the table…I have a place perfect for you.” 

Listen to the Word of God:

“This is my resting place for ever and ever; here I will sit enthroned, for I have desired it “ Psalm 132:4

So many times I long for “home”…for that feeling that comes in every sense of that word. God made His home among us…well over two thousand years ago…to walk with us…to teach us…to show us love…what home is built upon. He dwells within me…reminding me that home is not a structure…it is a state of being…of allowing Him to take up residence within my heart.

When I came home from my last overnight trip of the summer, I walked through the back door to the familiar smell of home…my home. I am not sure how it happens…what makes it smell that way…it just does. It felt great to sleep in my own bed…not have to share a shower…and catch up on my recorded programs.  The crazy thing about it is…God was waiting for me at my home…welcoming me to rest and refresh my tired body…because we have many more places to go…as soon as I recoup. He has my final destination ready for me….I simply wonder if I will need my pillow….just a thought.

Amen…and amen.