2 Ways to Overcome a Bad Attitude

By: Vivian Wilson

How to Fix Your Attitude Problem

Maybe it’s the heat of summer.  Or maybe it’s the waiting for loose ends to be tied up as in the closing of the sale of my house for four months or the paper work regarding my dad’s care in the nursing home in which he lives, that has been as yet unresolved for fourteen months.  Whatever the cause, the result is that I feel “stuck” in a season of life that I would describe as monotonous.  I have been sucked into an attitude that causes me to think that today is like yesterday and tomorrow will be like today.  (Which would be great if I was on a vacation at the beach!)

This attitude robs me of hope and joy.  It restricts my ability to recognize opportunities of blessing and prohibits me from enjoying the abundant life that is mine in Christ.  The result is that I live a life, not as a child of God, but as if I was a resident of this lost and broken world who is powerless to gain any real lasting joy or peace.

But the truth is that I am no longer of this world, but I am an alien.  My hope is grounded and secure in Jesus’ finished work on the cross.

A child of God should never settle for a monotonous life.

I believe that attitude is everything.  It is one of the very few things that I can control.  I can choose to have a different attitude. It sounds simple enough to do, but I have to be intentional.

Here’s how you and I can change our hopeless, self-centered attitudes into an attitude of contentment: 

(1) Remember the promises of God’s Word. There are two verses that give me comfort now.

Jeremiah 29:11  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to  give you hope and a future.”

Psalm 27:13  I am still confident of this:  I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.

Today does not have to be like yesterday and tomorrow brings new mercies.  It is a new day in which I can look forward, anticipating opportunities to see God’s grace displayed in my life as He unfolds His plans for me.

(2) Be grateful. Gratitude should naturally flow from a heart that recognizes God’s blessings and gifts.

As for my self-center focus, the anecdote is service, the act of giving myself for the benefit of someone else. When I consider another’s needs before my own I am blessed as well as the other person and God is pleased.

Gratitude is the Best Attitude

I tried to blame the weather and unfinished business for my attitude of discontent. Clearly these are not the reasons I have gone through the motions hopelessly living each day, tending to my responsibilities, satisfied to reject the hope, joy, and peace that is mine in Christ. The reason for my empty days is that I have been focused on myself, bemoaning the fact that perceived needs and desires aren’t being met.  Life just isn’t happening like I want it to on my time schedule. It is time to remember the lessons of trust and surrender that God has been teaching me.

He is trustworthy. I am in the best place possible when I surrender my life and my will to Him.

I appreciate you for allowing me to honestly share my failures and my weaknesses with you.  (And you still read these)!  By writing, I have a clearer vision of God’s work in me. The deepest desire of my heart is to love God more by walking in the Spirit rather than the flesh more and more consistently.

A work in progress,

Vivian