Evil exists…Hate happens…Love wins

By: Ms. O

love wins

Over the last few weeks I have been pretty busy with…oh…summer. I go from one event to the next…a mission trip here…camp there…days filled to the max…but not enough….to block out what is going on…in the world.

I have stopped saying that I am shocked by how evil manifests itself…because it only gets worse….each and every time. What exists in a person…that would cause them to do such horrible things…to take the lives of others…is beyond me. Perhaps that is best…I don’t ever want to understand that kind of ignorant hatred. It is the presence of evil…not plain…or simple…just evil.

There are times that I struggle with the way of the world. When we are surrounded by such anger…hatred…evil…it makes me stop…and wonder…what good can come. It was in my busyness…the craziest part of my schedule…that my eyes were opened. This is when I know…deep down in my soul…that God is more present than ever.

At camp, I saw God in the faces of different races that worshiped… played…studied… prayed…. together. We sat side-by-side…shared our stories…without the thought of color. Life…the abundant life God promised…became clear. As I sat in Peace Chapel…with my “mixed small group”…taking communion together…I sent up my thanks to God…that His fingers are so present…so REAL. I reconnected with brothers and sisters…in Christ…that although we attend different houses of worship…we praise the same God.

During our mid high mission trip, I received a call from one of my work team adults…wondering what to do…since her client spoke not a word of English…and she…along with the rest of her work team… spoke not a word of Spanish. It was in that moment… that God made His appearance…in the body of a small Hispanic boy that lives in the neighborhood…not only willing to translate…but asked if he could help…pull weeds….dig holes….plant flowers.  An answer to prayer…reminding us all….that love exists…when we look…beyond the obstacles.

I googled how many times “love” is mentioned in the Bible…310 times…but most important is when it is spoken in the content of…God.

“And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. GOD IS LOVE. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in Him. In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world we are like Him.” 1 John 3:16-17

When the world has gone crazy…and it seems like evil is “too much”…I remind myself of this scripture…the knowledge I have of His love for me. God is not like love….He IS love. When we live in love…we live in Him. We are the conduits to share His love with our family…friends…neighbors…the world.

I pray that I never lose sight of this great love…the face of God…when evil rears its ugly face. I need to be reminded that all is not right with the world…because it makes me yearn even more to share God with others…so that I make known that Love does win….

Because hello…I read the end of the Book….God wins.

 

AMEN