What it means to be still…

By: Vivian Wilson

Wedding still life in rustic style. Retro stylized photo.

This is so AWESOME!  I have to share this with you.  Last week I told you how God showed me how to handle the anxiety caused by worry over the probability of  a flood in Simonton.  There were some lessons from Psalm 37.  From verse 7, “Be still and rest in the Lord; wait for Him and patiently lean yourself upon Him.”

Being still is not easy for me.  I want to take control.  (That is a problem).  It is impossible to be in control and at the same time say, “I want what you want, Lord”.  While the flood situation is resolved, there are at least two very worrisome situations still playing out in my life.

But God is so good and faithfully takes care of me, always meeting me exactly where I am.  So why am I surprised when He comforts and assures me with His Word?  The following is what I read in my devotion this morning from Jesus Today–Experiencing Hope Through His Presence by Susan Young.

“I will fight for you; you need only be still.  I know you are weary, My child.  You have been struggling just to keep your head above water, and your strength is running low.  Now is the time for you to stop striving and let Me fight for you.  I know this is not easy for you to do.  You feel as if you must keep struggling in order to survive, but I am calling you to rest in Me.  I am working on your behalf; so be still, and know that I am God.

Quieting your body is somewhat challenging for you, but stilling your mind may often seem downright impossible.  In your striving to feel secure, you have relied too heavily on your own thinking.  This struggle to be in control has elevated your mind to a  position of autonomy.  So you need the intervention of the Holy Spirit.  Ask Him to control your mind more and more–soothing you from the inside out.  Take time to rest in the shadow of the Almighty while I fight for you.”

The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.  Exodus 14:14

Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.  Psalms 46:10

The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace.  Romans 8:6

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.  Psalms 91:1

God’s presence is very real and I am most aware of it when I take the time to open my heart and mind to His voice and listen as He speaks.  He speaks through His Word and in this case also through the inspired words in this devotional.  It was as if God and I were sitting face to face, heart to heart, over a cup of coffee.  He said things I needed to hear, encouraging me to trust Him and rest in Him.  His timing is perfect.

Today was a very peaceful day.

A work in progress,

Vivian