Your Life: An Epic Telling of God’s Story

By Ms. O

Your Life: God's Story

I love movies…I really do. I know “love” is an overrated word but for me…and movies…it simply fits. I so enjoy losing myself for two hours…in a story that is not my own…that I don’t have to respond to…try to fix.

It is a standing joke with my youth that my Top Ten Favorite Movies involves more than ten movies. I try to explain to them that the list evolves…it changes. (Let’s be real…new movies come along that intrigue me…so some how, I have to fit them in.) Perhaps I need a Top Ten of My Now Time…instead of Top Ten All Time…favorites.

There are some movies that will remain in my Top Ten regardless because the story line is timeless.  I am known to watch a movie over and over…can say the words along with the actors on the screen. It is almost like I have a part in the picture.

I have watched “It’s a Wonderful Life” more times than I can remember but I will still tear up…every…single….time. It reminds me that each life has meaning…value…worth. What we do impacts others…that we can make a difference. It also tells me that money is not everything…being rich is more about who and not what you surround yourself with.

I could watch  “You’ve Got Mail” a hundred times…probably have…and it never gets old. I have faced criticism because of my affection for this film…but hey….I am not one to play judge. Yes, I know that the main characters are not stellar in the beginning…both being deceitful in revealing things about themselves….but the brutal truth of relationships….our desire to be loved….for who we are… touches my soul.

Movies that speak of redemption will always creep up into the top favorites. I am not one that likes sad movies but there are times that they are worth the box of Kleenex.  “Schindler’s List” is one of those movies.  In the depth of depravity…the midst of one of the most horrific times in history…there is a glimpse of God…of His desire for us to move…do something…to cast His light to in the shadows…to give….hope.

I don’t need to question why I love movies so much…that is a no brainer. It is life played out on the big screen. It reminds me of the beauty of love…the pursuit of dreams…the importance of keeping what matters most front and center.

“He is wooing you from the jaws of distress to a spacious place free from restriction,

to the comfort of your table laden with choice food.”  (Job 36:16)

When I read that scripture I feel the pull… the wooing of my soul…that speaks to all that He created in me. God knows the language of my soul…He reminds me that I am part of His story…and I find that truly intriguing…and humbling.

He reminds me:Before I formed you in the womb I knew you….”…let me never forget…..”For He chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love”….Because of Christ, I have worth beyond any that I could fathom in my humanness.

Read on…it just gets better….believe me….

“but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us..” to redeem us….me….oh my.  And my response to this epic telling of God’s story…His screenplay…my top choice of how I want to live?

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

It is time to grab my popcorn…(add some salt…cause I love salt)…and immerse myself in His Word…His Story…because He has written me into it.  Together we have run the gamut of emotions…that is for sure…and He woos me back again and again…and that never gets old. Matter of fact…I am thankful that He constantly calls out…and saves me a seat…front row center section…oh ya. What is even crazier is…I am not a spectator…I have a part…a bit part mind you…but a part all the same…that He created especially for me. Amen and amen.

One thought on “Your Life: An Epic Telling of God’s Story

Comments are closed.