Is it a pile of rocks, or a road paved with stone? (Perspective is everything.)

By: Vivian Wilson

I know there are at least a few of you out there like me, bless our hearts, who, from time to time feel the weight of our responsibilities and commitments.  Add to that pile of rocks the boulders of trials and troubling circumstances over which we have no control.  It feels like we are being crushed and squeezed into a box leaving no room to move and precious little air to breathe.

I have been in that box for a while now. The trouble is, I know that God does not want me to live in the confines of such a place. He didn’t put me there, I put myself there by choice. That is to say, I chose to believe the lies of the enemy rather than stand on the Truth of God’s Word. I may have some limited control over some of my responsibilities and commitments, but no control over the trials and troubling circumstances. I have the ability to control my thoughts, my words, and by actions.

I can choose what I think, what I say, and what I do. That’s it.

The truth is, God is COMMITTED to changing me. He is making me into the image of Jesus.

2 Corinthians 3:18  And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory are being transformed into his likeness with ever increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is Christ.

And I know He uses all the “stuff” of life to accomplish this (see Romans 8:28-29). So I can decide to change my perspective of the pile of rocks.

When seen through the eyes of the evil one these rocks produce brokenness and destruction. But when seen through the eyes of God they are tools to shape me producing wholeness and maturity. The rocks and boulders of this world cannot harm me. In fact they are instruments with which God makes me into the person he created me to be.

Trials and Troubles, Rocks and Boulders - all just stepping stones on our path of glory.

There are some practical ways found in Psalm 37 for maintaining a healthy perspective.

Psalm 37:3  Trust in the Lord and do good

          37:4  Delight yourself in the Lord

          37:5  Commit your way to the Lord (cast all my anxiety on him)

          37:7  Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him

I will also be intentional about thanking him for the rocks and boulders in my life because they have a purpose.  And that is to make me useful in His kingdom and in so doing He is glorified.  After all, it isn’t about me but it is about Him.

So, my dear sisters, be encouraged by God’s grace that enables us to out from under the rocks and boulders that have piled up on top of us.  But also a reminder for all of us, there will always be rocks and boulders.

Because we are enabled and empowered by the Holy Spirit, we need not be crushed by them. Rather we can choose to be grateful for them and embrace them as instruments in our loving Father’s hands, instruments to shape us into the person he created us to be.

James 1:1-4  Consider it pure joy, by brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish it’s work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

Thank you, Father, for the rocky places in life.  Help me to see them through your eyes as tools to make me more like you. In Jesus name…amen.

A work in progress,

Vivian