3 Truths You Must Know: You Are Good Enough. You Are Not A Mistake. You Have Purpose.

By: Gail Armatys

No matter what you may think or what others may tell you, you are sacred in God’s eyes. You are good enough. You are not a mistake. You have purpose.

You are good enough. You are not a mistake.  You have purpose.

You Are Good Enough

For much of my young life I felt as though I didn’t belong…didn’t fit in. Mostly because my comparisons caused me to think I wasn’t smart enough…pretty enough…talented enough…you know…just not good enough. Through God’s amazing grace, I came to know and believe that no matter my weaknesses, failures, and disappointments I will always belong and be loved.

“You belong” and “You are good enough,” are not just messages I needed to hear and believe, they are words of truth for young and old alike – a message dear to God’s heart.

Fear not, for I have redeemed you;

I have summoned you by name;

You are mine.

Is. 43:1b

…you are precious and honored in my sight…

I love you.

Is. 43:4

We are led to believe by the world, it’s demons, and our ‘self’ that worth comes from applause, money, success, popularity, IQ, outward beauty and talent. If you’ve ever lacked in any of these areas, I hope you’ve come to know the truth…your value comes from Christ.

You and me? We’re good enough because Christ loved us enough. When someone willingly takes your place to spare your life…he loves you. You, my sister, are loved.

Greater love has no one than this,

that he lay down his life for his friends.

Jesus, John 15:13

Yet, accepting our worth in Christ can be challenging. It is much more than repeating a catchy mantra or sharing a compliment. It’s not self-help, self-motivation, or even pulling ourselves up by our bootstraps. Believing we are good enough is a full-on attack of faith. It saves us from:

  1. striving to be good enough through accomplishment;
  2. believing all is futile when we fail;
  3. searching for significance and acceptance in all the wrong places;
  4. succumbing to darkness that can lead to self-inflicted pain and loss of life.

You were created, claimed, and saved by God.

Believe it. Experience it as you sit in stillness wrapped in the arms of Christ.

You.  Are.  Good.  Enough. 

You Are Not A Mistake.

You were meant to be born exactly as you are. You are a unique, intentional, God-inspired design created with love. There is no one like you. It’s undeniable. Your fingerprints are yours alone. Your eyes belong to you. Your hands, feet, hair…all and only yours. You are different by design. God made you beautiful, unlike any other because He loves the idea of you! He desires the you that you are.

So why don’t you believe it? Maybe it feels safer to live undercover – secretly hiding the desire to thrive. You can’t get hurt if you aren’t known. And besides, the pain is deep.

I pray today you step out of the shadows, draw close to God and listen to the One who created you…Beautiful.

I have loved you with an everlasting love;

I have drawn you with loving kindness…

Jer. 31:3

You are intentional. God does not make mistakes. He creates beauty.

You.  Are.  Not.  A.  Mistake.

You Have Purpose

The words, “What difference do I make,” used to tumble through my mind. I couldn’t see my impact. The truth is, sometimes we don’t. And to be frank, our need to measure our contribution is more about pride than about the difference we make.

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,

Before you were born I set you apart;

I appointed you as a prophet.

Jer. 1:5

“I appointed you…” God spoke these words to Jeremiah, and He speaks them to you and me. He may not have set you apart as a prophet (or maybe he has), but you have been given talent to develop and gifts to share. They are not given in order that you might keep account of your impact. They are given that you may show Christ’s love to others as only you can.

You were born for a purpose. And, you were born to carry out your purpose in a specific time and place.

From one man He made every nation of men,

that they should inhabit the whole earth;

and He determined the times set for them

and the exact places where they should live.

Acts 17:26a

It is not an accident that you were born of your parents, in your town, amongst your friends and acquaintances, in your country, at a specific time on God’s timeline. He has a plan to fulfill and you have a role to play in that plan.

You.  Have.  Purpose.

So embrace your sacred worth. Be dazzled by God’s miraculous truths. Use your gifts and talents as only you can. Express the love of Christ through the opportunities given you in this time and place by the gracious hand of God.

Because the truth is…

You are good enough.  You are not a mistake.  You have purpose. 

Purpose Steps

In your time alone with God each morning this week,

  1. Thank Him that through Christ you are good enough.
  2. Thank Him for your uniqueness and beauty.
  3. Thank Him for the plans and purposes He has for your life.
  4. Ask for forgiveness for disbelief and that He strengthen your unbelief.
  5. Choose to overcome and embrace your sacred worth.

Purpose Prayer

Father, thank you for making me. Thank you for my beauty and unique design. Help me believe I belong and I am beloved so I may love others and fulfill the plan and purposes you have for my life. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Listen to Your HeartSong!

Beautiful Things/Gungor

Live the song written on your heart.