Realize the Power of Your Attitude

By Gail Armatys

“The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, than education than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes, than what other people think of, say, or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company…a church…a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past…we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude…I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you…we are in charge of our Attitudes.”

I’ve had this quote of Chuck Swindoll’s on the side of my refrigerator for as far back as I can remember. I believe a good and positive attitude is so important I have another quote stuck to the front of the fridge on the same topic…this one is much shorter. It says, “It’s our attitude not aptitude that determines our altitude.” Maybe this was (is still) a good reminder to me even as much as it was intended for my kids. Either way, I agree with both sentiments… our life reflects our attitude.

It's our attitude not aptitude that determines our altitude

Be Intentional About Your Attitude

So how do you go about living with a positive attitude? The key is to be intentional. Like Chuck said, “The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day.”

I, unfortunately, recall instances when I may have gone through a moment or a day or, okay…a period of time, with less than a stellar attitude. Like any good parent, God noticed and let me stay stuck right where I was for as long as I chose to maintain that attitude. I guess I’d forgotten what I had posted on the fridge.

Thankfully, I now know what attitude God desires – one that flows from the knowledge of His grace, to be sure. But there is an attitude that turns our key of intentionality and pushes open the door that leads to the fulfillment of God’s purposes. This is the attitude of humility.

Scripture tells us –

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:

Who, being in very nature God,

did not consider equality with God

something to be grasped, but made himself nothing

taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.

And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself

and became obedient to death –

even death on a cross!

Therefore, God exalted him to the highest place

And gave him the name that is above very name,

That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow,

In heaven and on earth and under the earth,

And every tongue confess that Jesus Chris is Lord,

To the glory of God the Father.

Phil. 2:5-11

God is clear. Our attitude should be that of Christ, a humble servant. Jesus intentionally chose the attitude of humility over power and pride. A choice he struggled with in the Garden of Gethsemane. Yet, he ultimately humbled himself and walked the lonely path to the cross.

Based on these verses, we learn that Jesus’ choice had four results.

  1. His obedience.
  2. Our salvation.
  3. Fulfillment of God’s purposes.
  4. Glory to God.

Have you realized what can result as you live your days with an attitude of humility?

  1. Your obedience.
  2. Salvation of another.
  3. Fulfillment of God’s purposes.
  4. Glory to God.

Chuck definitely has it right; our attitude has a powerful impact on life.

Purpose Steps

  1. Does your attitude reflect that of Christ? Choose to start each day this week with a right perspective like the little girl in the image above. The door will swing open toward obedience, salvation, and God’s glory.
  2. Memorize Philippians 2:3 this week. ‘Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves.’

Purpose Prayer

Father, I pray to start my days bowing my will to you. I seek to be like you, to have an attitude of humility that I may obey, draw others to you, fulfill your purposes and glorify your name. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Listen to Your HeartSong Here!

To Be Like You/ Hillsong-Glorious Ruins