Because…

Because He Lives

By: Ms. O

Because I grew up in the northern part of the United States, I have a fondness for snow…as long as I don’t have to shovel it…fall foliage…and cheese steaks. (for some of you, I may need to explain that a cheese steak is NOT a steak with cheese piled on top…it is a Philly Cheese Steak sandwich…manna…pure manna)

Because I grew up on the East Coast, I appreciate the shore…in a whole different way than the shoreline along the Gulf Coast of Texas. Rehoboth, Wildwood, Ocean City, Atlantic City…had boardwalks…you didn’t drive on the sand…nope. You hot footed it across the sand to your towel…or the water…or back to the boardwalk.

Because I grew up in a large family…two parents…two sisters…two brothers…two dogs…I understand what it takes to share…and get along…or get in BIG trouble. We shared meals together…a bedroom for most of my life growing up…a bathroom always. When I first got married and lived in an apartment with only me and my husband, it felt strange to have only me and him. How foreign it was for me to have to wait for only one person to use the shower…or share the chores with….or argue with over what television program to watch.

Because I moved to Texas when I was a teenager, I grew to love the South.  The accent….the hospitality…using ma’am and sir….chicken fried steak…. barbeque ….Mexican food…rodeos…and wide open country. I shudder to think that I would never have experienced this if we had not moved cross-country so many years ago.

Because we moved around…a lot…I had to move past my shyness…and meet people. I knew if I wanted to have someone to talk to…especially when the kids were little and my world was made up of Hello Kitty and Transformers…I had to reach out past that wall that caused me not to be noticed. It seemed like whenever I got comfortable in one place…the company would move us to another…and my world got upended…again. I look back though…to the fond memories…and friends…that I made each place we lived…and know my life is richer because of it.

Because I am a mom…I know what it means to love…full out…no holds barred…in spite of tantrums…sleepless nights…sacrifices made… terrible twos…tiresome threes…horrendous teenagedom. It is more worth it than I could ever have imagined.  To look at my children, I know I have been as close to God as I can be here on earth…because the love I give to them comes from Him…through me…to them…in abundance.

The most important “because” statement…the whole ‘cause and effect’…comes from God. What song plays over and over in my head is this:

Because he lives

I can face tomorrow

Because he lives

All fear is gone

Because I know

He holds the future

And life is worth the living

Just because he lives

This simple but overwhelming fact gives me peace beyond my own understanding. As I sat in church on Easter Sunday…alongside my three children…I was reminded of this perfect gift.

While my world is not perfect…the ebb and flow of life continues…change happens…but my futures is secure…because He lives. I know the story…of His death and resurrection…so I know my future….He holds it for me. Because He lives…my hope is placed securely in His hands…and that alone gives me exactly what I need to move from the past…work through today…and face tomorrow.

The angel said to the women, ‘Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. He is not here; he has risen, just as He said. Come and see the place where he lay.” Matthew 28:5 – 6

Oh my…all this…for me…and for you…all because….He loves…us.

Christ has risen…He has risen indeed! Praise be to God!

Amen.