Do I even look like Jesus at all?

As God's child, do others easily make the connection that you and he share character traits?

By: Amy Dalke

You wouldn’t need to be around my son Luke very long to be assured I’m his real life mother. That also goes for Larry. Basically Luke could never successfully deny his family of origin. He’s just got too much of us in him, whether he likes that or not. (And mind you, it’s not a like a major science project to decipher which traits came from which parental unit.)

If similar behavioral traits and shared physical characteristics weren’t enough to convince you that Luke is our son, we have the actual DNA proof to back up the claim.

While you and I might not be direct physical descents of Jesus, anyone who believes in Jesus has become God’s child.

“But to all who have received him—those who believe in his name—he has given the right to become God’s children; children not born by human parents or by human desire or a husband’s decision, but by God.” (John 1:12-13)

All day long on Easter, I kept wondering what difference Jesus really makes in my life. Do people see His character reflected in the way I act? Do I love people like Jesus loves? Would I be easily identified as God’s child? Am I living proof that Jesus really defeated sin’s power?

On any given day, those answers might differ.

As someone who claims to believe in Jesus, it shouldn’t take long for others to figure out I belong to God. But this might be difficult if you’ve ever seen me at the baseball field. (I’m only being a little bit dramatic. But thank God for grace.)

I’d like to tell you that I’m pretty perfect when it comes to this Jesus-like life…but that would be a big fat lie. Because the truth is, I have this incredible tendency to insist on my own way. Loving others is hard, and some days I can only love so far until I throw up my hands in frustration. On these days, God’s reflection in me is hazy at best.

Which is why we all need Jesus.

Jesus makes it possible for us to rightly bear the image of God (the way that God designed us in the first place). The very same power that raised Christ from the dead dwells within God’s children, making it possible for us to look like Jesus. We can try to conjure up love-ish feelings for our frenemies and neighborly good deeds all day long. But without God, that’s a wasted effort in fake goodness.

As God’s children, we won’t necessarily look in the mirror and see a halo on our head. Yet as we allow God’s word to shape us, and the Spirit’s power to fuel us, our lives will look more and more like Jesus’. We will undoubtedly have that family resemblance.

In other words, others won’t have to hang around us very long to be assured that God isn’t just a thing we talk about on Sundays. They will know that God is our God in real life.

Amy

One thought on “Do I even look like Jesus at all?

  1. Amy, your heart beams Jesus to so many by showing us your honesty!! In my heart of hearts, I believe Jesus looks upon you with pride as a daughter, in His likeness, teaching His love!

Comments are closed.