3 Ways You Control the Light

Cross I Am the Light Of The World

By: Gail Armatys

I used to be a control freak. Can you relate? Thankfully, with the passage of time, I’ve realized the futility of attempting to control people and circumstances (most of the time). On the flip side, I am happy to report that there are a few things I can control – and so can you. Along with our reactions, behavior, words, and choices we can control our light.

What do I mean? Jesus says in John 8:12, “I am the light of the world.” As Christians, the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Christ, the light of the world, is deposited in us when we accept Christ as our Savior that we might carry on his work. You may already be aware of that. But I wonder, do you actually think about it? And, if you do, what are you doing about it? Are you letting his light shine?

For God, who said, “let light shine out of darkness”,

made his light shine in our hearts…

2 Corinthians 4:6

You, my dear, are the walking, talking light of Jesus.   And yet, you still get to control:

(a) How much exposure you get to the light and,

(b) How you reflect this light to others.  

3 Ways To Control Light

To put our light/control issues into perspective, we go back to science class today and learn the three ways we can control light.

  1. Block the light. When we block light things get darker. Shadows appear or we find complete darkness. Light makes things visible. Darkness hides them.

Spiritual Spark. If you are feeling confused, stuck, guilty, frustrated, or even ‘in the dark’, could it be that there is something in your life blocking the light of Christ – keeping your path hidden? Unforgiveness, anger, worry, pride, self-pity, fear, wrong motives…? Or could it be that the busyness of life keeps you frazzled and out of balance?

Strike the Match. Expose yourself. Step into the light. Be bold and ask God to search you and reveal any offensive way(s) in you. (Ps. 139:23-34) Then seek his forgiveness and turn away – choose light.

  1. Reflect the light. We can change the path of light by reflecting it with a mirror. The angle of a ray of light is then dependent on the angle or position of the mirror and determines its path.

Spiritual Spark. When our relationship with Christ is good and right, when he is first in our life, when we spend time with him in worship, scripture, and prayer then we are in the right position to reflect him – his holy character.

Strike the Match. Let your light shine. “For God…made his light shine in our hearts…” (2 Cor. 4:6). You and I were meant to shine. Take hold of this knowledge and “Live as children of light.” (Eph. 5:8) What would you have to do or change in your routine and responses for others to better see Christ in your daily life? Only you can answer that question, but I do know that it starts with the desire to grow your relationship with him.

  1. Bend the light. We can bend light by making it pass through something of a different density like water or glass. I’m sure you now clearly hear your science teacher’s voice saying, “This process is called refraction. Lenses of your glasses work using refraction, and focal point and focus are key to how glasses allow you to see.”

Spiritual Spark. When I think of bending to Christ, I think of bowing down, humbling myself before him, thanking him for his never-ending grace and mercy, for his sacrifice, for his love. I make him my focus and focal point as I kneel before him. It is there, on my knees, that I recognize the burning in my heart, something desiring to break free, something for which I control it’s release, and something bigger than my fear and pride…

God's Light Breaking Free From Your Heart

…it is the light of the Christ.

Strike the Match. Choose this day to be fully exposed to his light letting it break free from your heart that you may reflect him to others.

Of this you have complete control.

Purpose Prayer

Father, thank you that Jesus, the light of the world, is within me. I pray for a pure heart, a right relationship, focus, and humility that I might expose myself to more of you and that I may shine outwardly for others to see and receive. In Jesus’ holy name I pray, Amen.

Purpose Steps

As you step through this week, seek to spend more time with the Lord. Really, intentionally, commit to serving him and his purposes first. Note how his light shines through you.

Listen to Your HeartSong Here!

We Are/Kari Jobe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8cX6SHtxeE

Live the song written on your heart