Are the clouds in your life hiding the sunshine?

What colors did you see in the dress? Might want to check your light source...

This is the second week of our Lenten series on the seven I AM statements of Jesus. Each blog post this week will focus on Jesus as the Light of the World.


 

By: Vivian Wilson

I don’t know about you, but I am getting tired of cloudy and rainy weather. I’m ready for some extended days of sunshine. I know the sun is still there even though I can’t see it. I know it is still rising and setting, sure and steady.

There is something about sunlight that lifts the spirit. Maybe that is why Jesus called himself The Light of the World.

John 8:12  When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life”.

In Ephesians 5:8 Paul writes, “For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord”.

And Jesus said in Matthew 5:14-16  “You are the light of the world.  A city on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl.  Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the home.  In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven”.

Not only did Jesus call himself the light of the world, He says to me that in Him I am also the light of the world. But when I allow “clouds” of doubt, worry, the cares of the world, anger, unforgiveness, bitterness, anxiety, selfishness, pride, fear, envy, and jealousy, to name a few, to gather in my life, the result is an attitude that hides the “SON” that is within me. He is still there but no one can see Him through the clouds.

But the winds of prayer and repentance will drive away the clouds, ushering in thanksgiving and praise which leads to worship as I focus my attention on the Lord Jesus. I am the light when I put on the attitude of Christ. He made Himself nothing, taking on the nature of a servant He humbled himself.  (Eph.2:5-8)

Ephesians 2:3-4  Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.  Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interest of others.

I will be wise to remember that the light of the world lives in me, making me the light of the world in Him. I must be careful not to allow “clouds” of sin to hide the “SON” in my life.

A work in progress,

Vivian