Broken for me…

By: Vivian Wilson

Do you believe that Jesus is enough? Really?

I set myself up for it. The “it” is the humiliation I experienced this past week. Scripture clearly warns that pride will cause dishonor and disgrace.

Proverbs 11:2  “When pride comes, then comes disgrace…”

The problem with pride is that it is sometimes disguised as confidence.

So how did I fall into the trap? It’s really very simple. I forgot that I am a broken person living in a broken world. I let my confidence in my skill and experience in what I do for a living get out of balance. I have a reputation that precedes me and I believed the hype. I became confident that in at least one area of my life I could be almost perfect; that in my own strength I could be the best and do it flawlessly.

Then one day, because I didn’t know the protocol for the celebration honoring one who has just gotten his braces off, we had a forty-five minute staff meeting at the end of the day. To be fair, it wasn’t the only thing discussed, but it did take up the majority of the time. Why didn’t I know? Because in my pride it wasn’t important enough to me to ask. Though I was not mentioned by name, everyone knew I was the one who messed up. I didn’t do a perfect job. During the next couple of days, I noticed that I wasn’t “perfect” on a few other details at work.

Of course I’m not perfect. This is why I need a Savior. And because He knows my tendency to be independent and forget that I am weak and needy and that in my own strength I will fail, He tells me to remember Him and what He did for me.

1 Corinthians 11:23-24  “The Lord Jesus on the night he was betrayed, took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, ‘This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me”.”

My humiliation last week was a blessing. The second part of Proberbs 11:2 says, “…with humility comes wisdom.”  My identity and my worth is not found in my skill and reputation at work. I am a child of the King, co-heir with Jesus because His body was broken for me so that my broken body can be made whole.

Jesus is the Bread of Life. He is my life. Whatever talents and gifts that I have, He has given me. Whatever good thing I may do is by His grace and His power.

I will be wise to remember.

A work in progress,

Vivian

One thought on “Broken for me…

Comments are closed.