40 Shades of Me

By: James Thompson

No, I am not jumping into the bru-ha-ha created by a certain movie lately. I apologize to those that only started reading this entry seeking to weigh on said movie. You may stop reading now. This entry is entirely and completely about me. Specifically, me and each of my shades (i.e., years).

In case you haven’t figured, my impending 40th birthday is what has led to this introspection and psuedo-wisdom nugget review. I have learned a few things throughout the years:

1. It is not good for man to be alone (Gen. 2:18). That is true for this man. I probably would not have made it to 40 without my bride. I mean, really, can one live 40 years only eating vegetables that come on hamburgers?

20140413_183639

2. Speaking of Genesis – Poor Adam. Aside from the whole original sin thing, Adam had it rough. He was the first to deal, handle, hide from….love a pregnant woman. And, having children was completely a new experience. He didn’t get to practice as the “awesome” uncle.  Nope. He couldn’t even draw his own memories as a boy to give him insight into his own children.

3. And, yet, I sometimes feel like Adam. My kids make me feel like Adam. I have no clue what do with, or for, them sometimes. Isaac will even sometimes jump on me (with no warning) making me feel like I have dislodged a rib in my side.

4. If I’m Adam, Missy is my Eve. She was made for me. I truly believe this.

20140109_200154

5. Missy wouldn’t have eaten the apple. There is no way. Had the snake tempted my bride with an apple, there is no way she would have eaten it. And, by the time the snake proved to her that the apple was organic, raised from non-GMO seeds, without the use of synthetic pesticides or fertilizers, and produced in an ecologically harmonious manner, the apple would have likely rotted.

6. It ain’t about stuff (Matthew 6:19). New stuff is only exciting for like an hour. Then, it becomes like the stuff you already have. Which you probably have too much of anyway and no where to store it.

7. You can’t change people. You can’t. Don’t try. Only they can change themselves. Some people are going to merge at the last minute, cheer for the aggies, and eat mushrooms. And, then, there are normal ones like me. All you can do is pray that they will someday see the error of their ways.

20141117_153836

8. Sometimes it just aint worth it. I don’t know what “it” is for you. But, for me, it is those things that suck the enjoyment out of life. Those things that are done out of sense of obligation rather than desire.

9. If you do something, do it with all your heart. Not only are we told to do so in the Bible. But, if you are not going to do your best, why do it at all?

10. Proverbs 25:24. There are no truer words….so, I’ve seen from some of my friends.

11. Hug your kids…..Especially when they ask for it (even if they are only asking because they are delaying going to bed).

20141119_081011

12. If you love someone….tell them.

I could probably come up with 40 of these gems. But, if you are older and wiser than me you already have them figured out. If you are not, read these words closely as they will ring true soon enough.

I hope each and every one of you have a great weekend. Appreciate each moment as a unique opportunity and gift that it is.

In full midlife-ing mode,

JET