Discontentment is Contagious

By Vivian Wilson
Discontentment is Contagious. Are you spreading it?
At our office meeting Monday morning, we were admonished by the boss to stop complaining. He clearly did not want to hear any more.  It seems there has been some grumbling going on at my place of employment. Gratefully, since I am the “new kid on the block”, I have not been infected, but I have seen the symptoms;  tardiness, laziness, negative countenance, and whispering in small groups. When things are not to the liking of some, they grumble.
I have been reading Exodus this week, and I see that some things never change. The Israelites did not like the place in which they found themselves after being freed from 430 years of slavery. They were between the Egyptian army and the Red Sea.
Exodus 14:10-12  As Pharoah approached, the Israelites looked up, and there were the Egyptians, marching after them.  They were terrified and cried out to the Lord.  They said to Moses, “Was it because there were no graves in Egypt that you brought us to the desert to die?  What have you done to us by bringing us out of Egypt?  Didn’t we say to you in Egypt, ‘Leave us alone; let us serve the Egyptians’?  It would have been better for us to serve the Egyptians than to die in the desert!”
 
Three days later they grumbled because they couldn’t drink the bitter water.  (Ex.15:24)
A month later they grumbled because they didn’t have meat to eat.  (Ex. 16:2)
Each time they grumbled they said they would have been better off enslaved in Egypt.  It was the whole community of Israel that was discontent.  (Ex. 16:2)  I would imagine that the murmuring started with a few but spread quickly to the entire community. Discontentment is Contagious.  It can spread like wildfire. Even those who know God can be swept up in the destruction. When there is discontentment  there is no joy and no peace because self is at the center of it
So, how can I avoid getting caught in the trap of discontentment at work?  Rather than grumble if something isn’t going the way I would like, I will be grateful.  I will be grateful for my job and the opportunity it provides to love and serve my patients, my co-workers, and my boss.
Ephesians 6:7  Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men,
 
Colossians 3:17  And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.
 
I am learning that I am the most content when my focus is on God and others.  I am not thinking about what I want, or how I can meet my needs, or how I can accomplish the desires of my heart.  I am trusting God, my Heavenly Father, who loves me beyond measure, to know what is best for me in spite of how things appear.
The Israelites saw that they were trapped and doomed to die at the hands of the Egyptian army.  They saw that they were dying of thirst, and they saw that they were starving to death.  But God rescued and provided for them in order that they would know and trust him.
As God used Moses to lead a group of people who were prone to grumble and voice their discontent, I pray that God will use me to lead those with whom I work, to Jesus; that they will know and trust him and find him to be the source of joy and peace that they are seeking.
It is my desire that they will see Jesus in me when they watch me at work and when they see how I interact with patients and with them.
My work isn’t a job, it is a ministry. I will be grateful for your prayers as God accomplishes His will through me in this place.
A work in progress,
Vivian

2 thoughts on “Discontentment is Contagious

  1. What a great article. I loved ur incite of using the office atmosphere and relating it to what u r already reading in Exodus. U r such a godly lady. An early Happy Birthday. We r in Austin & I have ur card with me BUT we will see how quickly it gets to u!!

    Love u S

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Comments are closed.