And all the time…God is good

By: Ms. O

Years ago…and I mean YEARS…when I first starting going to church camp, I met someone…who would end up being one of my very dear friends. He used a phrase that has always stuck with me:

God is good, when? All the time.

He used it to get the youth back focused again…starting the first part of the statement…waiting for the response…and then go on to the next part to do the same.

I did not think too much of it at the time….I was much like the youth…ready to listen and respond. It has taken me many years to grasp a portion of that truth…to have my ears ready to hear this gem enough to treasure it.

I have lived enough years on this planet to know that life is unpredictable. Good things happen…along with the bad….it all adds up to…life.  The house I grew up in is a distant memory….the friends I hung out with as a child I never see anymore…unless I see them on Facebook. I have celebrated the birth of my children….their accomplishments …graduation…high school and college…and have seen them move into adulthood.

Over the years I have laughed…and cried…but for the most part…did not think too much of what place God had in all of that….living.  I suppose a lot of it has to do with my very shallow understanding of God’s placement in my day-to-day living.  I felt like He changed with my circumstances…..just writing that makes me laugh out loud…at  my own ignorance.

Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of His purpose very clear to his heirs of what was promised, He confirmed it with an oath. God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope offered to us bay be greatly encouraged.” Hebrews 6:17-18

This scripture refers to the promise that God made to Abraham…that he and his descendants would be blessed. That is not to say that Abraham led an easy life…but he was assured that God was with him. He made a promise…He keeps His promise…He does not change.

When is God good? All the time.

When I hear of great news….happiness is in full bloom…my heart sings….. I think to myself…God is good…all the time…and all the time…God is good. He is high fiving with me…wanting me to take joy in what brings Him joy. I feel Him smiling…laughing full out…beckoning me to revel in it….these snatches of how it is supposed to be…when things go right.

God is good, even in the trials. He's good all the time. All the time, God is very good.

The crazy thing is….when life is not going “according to plan”…I have come to realize that statement is just as true…if not more so. God is good….all the time…and all the time…God is good. When sorrow wears me down…when worry is a burden to bear…God is the only “good” in it all. He reveals Himself to me in so many ways…to remind me of His presence…so that I can hang on to “His good”…in the face of life’s not to great.

My journey in life travels a twisted path. Some of the detours are self imposed…others are due to the fact that life….just…happens. This is what I know though. God meets me at every fork in the road…calls out to me…continually…in spite of my lack of listening…time and time again.

I hear His voice…reminding me…”I am here for you Linda…that won’t stop. Your life may change…where you live…what happens with the kids…your calling…but I DON’T. I remain the same….yesterday…..today…and tomorrow.”

God is good…all the time…..and all the time…God is good…and I give thanks for that reality. You truly are good God…all the time.

Amen

One thought on “And all the time…God is good

Comments are closed.