A Wish is Not Hope

By Vivian Wilson

This past Sunday, was the day I was to have competed in the Houston Marathon. I began my preparation in July, with great hope. My desire was to run it in a personal best time and I was confident in my expectation to fulfill that desire; I had great hope. But something happened, I was injured, just five weeks before the race.

Since I have been thinking about hope, I asked myself this question, “On what was I basing by hope for the marathon?” I think the answer is “pretty much on my own strength”. I had the will to do it, I was committed to do the necessary work of training, I was determined, (not stubborn or anything), and I was confident. Obviously putting my hope on my own strength and ability was foolish. This was not “sure” hope, it was more like a wish. There was nothing that I could do to guarantee the fulfillment of my hope.

Though I was disappointed, I was not in despair. Why? Because I have real, sure, hope.

In real life there are much bigger struggles than my disappointment. This was minor and short-lived and in the big picture, insignificant. When the issues are significant, like health, relationships, or losses how do we avoid despair? It is sure hope that sustains and strengthens and empowers us. But it must be sure hope, hope that cannot fail. There is only one hope that is true, and that is hope in God.

I am always to be prepared to give the reason for my hope.

1 Peter 3:15 “But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have“.

I want to live my life so that someone will ask me about the hope that I have. I talked about living my life intentionally so that others might see a glimpse of Jesus in me. Each morning I begin with this thought, “I will live today as if this is my last day on earth”. I want to love and extend grace to others. This means that I have to be alert, looking for opportunities. It means I can’t be thinking about myself but about others. I don’t want to waste time on my “last day” by worrying, or being anxious, or getting offended, or angry, or distracted by the “small stuff.” I want my “last day” to make an eternal difference in someone’s life.

Psalm 62:5 “Find rest, o my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him“.

My hope is not based on what I can do but on what God says he will do. It is this hope, the assurance of my eternal relationship with the Living God, that puts life in perspective, that motivates and strengthens me to live my life in obedience to his Word.

Still a work in progress,

Vivian

2 thoughts on “A Wish is Not Hope

  1. Thought about you on Sun & wondered how u were doing. Love how God used u to write about ur disappointment but where ur hope really lies.

    Love u S

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Comments are closed.