Do I have what it takes…?

By: Ms. O

We all know “that” person…the person who just “has it”. You know what I’m talking about…it confounds me to no end….perhaps because of my jealousy…of…“it”.

What's in your toolbox? Do you have what it takes?

A good friend of mine is the MacGyver of all repair…rebuild…or simply start fresh projects.  This is one of the cases of the chicken or the egg…which came first. He  was an Army Ranger so of course he can do anything…but maybe because he can do anything, he is a natural Army Ranger. All I know is given a roll of duct tape, some wire, and a Swiss Army knife, watch out…it will get done…just get out of the way.

Do you have what it takes?

His wife is the Betty Crocker of all time. She was part of our Wednesday morning Bible class…in which we were appropriately named “the eaters”….so we took turns bringing food. I can tell you, the weeks she brought food…there was not an empty seat in class. I think people came off the street because they “knew”…her cinnamon rolls are renowned. There have been a few times that she tried to teach me her craft…but mercy…there is way too much involved…my attention waned…and I realized this was not my calling. Yes, I can make comfort food…but it better be fast…and easy…with less than five steps.

I am always envious of those who can sew. For the life of me, the whole laying out and cutting the pattern, putting the pieces together, and wa-la…a dress…astounds me. I just don’t get it. I am a simple sew girl…one straight line…I can throw it into reverse…to make sure it does not come undone…but that’s it.  Whenever I find myself in the material department…mostly for non-sewing projects…and I see the patterns…oh my…I break out in the “cold sweat- this must be Latin” type of feeling. Anyone who can not only figure them out…but also actually make something…wearable…out of it…wow. So…not…me.

Do you have what it takes…?

I have friends who are math minded….another language that is totally foreign to me. I would say, “who needs it”…but I know we do. That is what calculators and fingers are for. I would dare say that some of my friends not only know what math is all about…but also love it…go figure. I have my way of “doing math”…but it is so elementary…and even that I have been told is wrong. I have to have “tricks” to figure out math problems…because it is something I just don’t feel smart enough to execute. It is beyond my thinking capabilities.

When I think about my “vocation”….my calling…those are the times I feel the most inept. The person who was not raised going to church every week….who did not really accept Christ as my Savior until well into my twenties…and here I am…leading youth. I have fellow youth directors who actually STUDIED to become youth directors. Mercy…

I so associate with Moses…arguing with God…

Peter…..jumping in without thinking it through…

Jacob…having a full out wrestling match with God…and the list goes on.

If I overthink this, I find myself in a heap of terror…wondering what in the world God was thinking…when He called me…I mean really…there has to be better choices.

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.” Psalm 51:10-12

God wanted a fresh start with David…a right heart to receive the work God had for him. It was God’s desire to restore David…just as He does with me….with a fresh Spirit. It is when I overthink things…when I “try so hard”…the operative term is “I”…leaving God out of the plan…and things turn south in a hurry.

GIve us Clean Hands, Give us Pure Hearts

My right spirit…a heart for Him…is when I come to God totally unequipped…but oh so ready…because He is the One and Only who can take this “fish out of water” and use me to His glory. God is so truly amazing…and it is when I am feeling totally inept that I realize just how amazing our God is. He holds out His Hands to me…waiting for me to place my heart there…so He can mold…shape it…and fill it with love…His love for me…so I am able…and equipped…to love others.

I don’t have to be MacGyverish…Betty Crockerish…or Einstein…I need to be…ME…and God will take care of the rest. Something I am truly thankful for. I come to You Lord…ready for You to teach me…it works out so much better that way. Amen and amen.

One thought on “Do I have what it takes…?

Comments are closed.