Words Matter.

By: Vivian Wilson

I am happy to report that nothing traumatic (spilling all the turkey drippings for gravy into the trash can) has happened to me in the last few days that God would use as a training tool.  So as I sit here in my blue chair pondering my thoughts for the week, my mind seems to have settled on words.

As you know, or maybe I haven’t told you, I have gone back to work from a half day a week to three days as an orthodontic assistant. I retired from the Katy office twelve years ago and have worked in Sealy for the past five.

I am back in Katy two days now. While my skill in the mechanics of the job is very good, I am having to learn to use the computer to chart the patients appointments. (I am not tech savvy, just ask Amy, or anyone else for that matter). The same is true for x-rays, all computerized—ugh!  But I’m learning.

One thing hasn’t changed. And this is true for any occupation or any setting. We are relational beings who were created to communicate with each other by using words.

Since I am new to the Katy office, the patients are seeing me for the first time. Being the “new” person, and let’s be honest here, the “new” one who looks like I could be their grandmother, doesn’t inspire calm assurance. In fact, most are very wary of the “new” person. This is true of children and adults.

But in my experience, I have found that kind words especially when accompanied by gentleness replaces fear and anxiety with a measure of peace and calm. This gives me the time to prove that my skill is worthy of their trust. It seems that patients who are difficult or apprehensive usually “find their way” to my chair. I don’t believe this is random but instead a divine appointment. We both benefit. I have the privilege to reflect God’s love and grace toward them and they have peace.

I have seen first hand what God’s word tell’s us. The tongue is powerful. (James 3:1-12)

Words matter. Once they are written or spoken they are “out there” exposing and revealing our deepest feelings, our thoughts, intents, motives, and attitudes. I am keenly aware that my words once spoken or written are etched in the mind of those who hear or read them.

words

Yes, words do matter. They have the power to:

  1. build up or tear down
  2. encourage or discourage
  3. enlighten or deceive
  4. honor or dishonor
  5. bring relief or cause pain

Words are powerful. They will always have an affect on the one who hears, even if it is indifference.

I am still amazed and humbled that you would use your precious time to read my words.  I pray that above all, they will honor my Heavenly Father. I hope that they give you Truth to ponder, encouragement, and even occasionally a good laugh.

I am going to be very careful with the words I use, making sure that I think before I speak, keeping in mind that words matter, they are powerful and can not be “unspoken”.  I want my words to be life-giving and not words that I regret saying. This will require God’s wisdom and discernment and a heart that abides in Him.

Proverbs 10:19  “When words are many, sin is not absent, but he who holds his tongue is wise”.

Proverbs 12:25  “An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up”.

Proverbs 15:1  “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger”.

Proverbs 16:23-24  “A wise man’s heart guides his mouth and his lips promote instruction.  Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones”.

Proverbs 21:23  “He guards his mouth and his tongue keeps himself from calamity”.

A work in progress,

Vivian

4 thoughts on “Words Matter.

  1. Viv, Wednesday mornings have become particularly special to me because that is when I get to read your words. No sacrifice of precious time here! Thanks for these words today — and keep on writing them. I look forward already to next week’s offering.

  2. I love ur writings. I wait with anticipation each week for Wed, Hump Day, to come. Your encouragement & enlightenment gets people over the “hump” of Wed!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. I read your words and am anxious to read them every week. I like your blog especially because it is short and to the point. It is not too “wordy”. 🙂 Thank you for your gift. Keep em coming.

Comments are closed.