A Worthy Goal

By: Vivian Wilson

Typewriter With 2015 New Year's Resolutions And Christmas Tree T

Another year is coming to a close bringing the dawning of a new year.  Standing at the threshold of 2015, an opportunity for a new beginning beckons.  It is time to evaluate attitudes, desires, failures, successes, and to set goals.

Goal setting has never been a discipline that I have practiced, but I am learning that to live life intentionally requires goals.  Anyone can set a goal, but simply setting a goal doesn’t guarantee achievement.

Reaching a realistic goal begins with a plan. Implementing the plan, and seeing it through requires commitment, focus, effort, determination, and perseverance.

Living an intentional life means that I have to be alert and engaged in life moment by moment, day by day.

I must use my brain.  (I’m getting tired just thinking about this).  It is so much easier to drift through life day to day than to be intentional about making choices and being disciplined in my actions.

Galatians 6:9  “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we so not give up”.

In the process of moving forward toward the realization of a goal, I know that there will be times of failure, discouragement, disappointment, uncertainty and doubt, and the temptation to quit.  God understands our human weaknesses which is probably the reason the word perseverance is mentioned twenty times in the New Testament.

Romans 5:3  “Not only so but we rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance, character; and character, hope.

So goals must be noble and valuable to be worth the effort.  There is no greater goal than one which brings eternal benefit.  While I have set some practical goals, like taking care of my physical body, my goal for my spiritual life is to model God’s grace by being alert to opportunities that are in front of me every day, to be holy (set apart), in the center of God’s will by prayer and reading God’s Word, and to make a difference in the lives of others by applying His Word.

The New Year brings a renewal of hope for good things to come, an excitement to see what changes may come, and the blessings that lie ahead because I choose to live intentionally.  I choose to be engaged in a life led by and empowered by the Spirit of God.  This will be a good year!

I wish for you a happy and blessed New Year lived out intentionally.

Vivian