Doesn’t “Ease of Mind” Sound Wonderful?

By: Vivian Wilson

O.K. I got my “word” for 2015. God gave me trust and surrender in January, the last two years, so I didn’t get it at first. He had to repeat it a few times until it finally dawned on me. Mind you, I’m still working on the first two so I was hoping I would get a year off, you know, so I could keep working on trust and surrender.

I don’t think it was a mistake that I was informed in December, in the midst of the Christmas Season. After all, we are making lists for “Santa”, letting the would-be giver know exactly what we want, what the “perfect” gift would be; that one gift under the tree that would give us such great joy.

Content.
Content.

To be content is to be satisfied.

Contentment is ease of mind, peace if you will, satisfaction.

I’m sure I’ll have much more to say about this in the coming weeks and months.  But for now I’ll share what God revealed to me.  (I know it was Him because I’m not that smart).  As I thought about my journey over these last several months, and these three words, I saw how much my loving Father is interested and involved in my maturing process. He is a God of order, so He chose trust first as the foundation.

Trust involves the mind. I must know the One in whom I put my trust.  The better I know Him through prayer, (communication), and the study of His Word, the better I trust Him.

Surrender involves the will. I can choose to surrender or not.  I can choose to hold things tightly or loosely. This includes relationships, position, money, plans, habits, possessions, to name a few.

Contentment involves my emotions. It is a feeling that says, “all is well”; a feeling of peace no matter the situation or circumstance.

Mind, will, and emotions are what make us different from all other living things in God’s creation. They are what make us men and women and objects of God’s great love.  He is about developing the whole person into a mature follower of His Son.

So, as I continue my “homework” for trust and surrender, I will now have work to do for contentment. (I hope I learn this one faster that the first two).

Proverbs 19:23  “The fear of the Lord leads to life:  Then one rests content, untouched by trouble”.

This is my goal, to rest content, untouched by trouble.

A work in progress,

Vivian