We are all just walking each other home

By: Ms. O

“We are all just walking each other home.”

I read this quote a few weeks ago…copied it down onto a sticky note…and it inside the cover of my Bible. It struck a chord with me that I just can’t shake…a whisper from God…to remember what is important.

Where I grew up in Delaware…the second smallest state in case you didn’t know…and we walked to school. It was uphill…only one way mind you…and I have walked in the snow before…but it was what was between the school and home that I think about. If I cut across the schoolyard…instead of staying on the sidewalk…I had to walk through a grove of trees. To me, it seemed like a forest…but in true life reality….looking back with adult eyes…I know that it was not that huge…it’s all in the perception of things. If I was alone walking home…the path seemed dark and dangerous…and endless. I would stare at the ground…so that I would not lose my footing…and pick up the pace….to make it out of the “woods” alive.

Now I understand I exaggerate a bit…but in my elementary school mind…it had me stymied. The one thing I knew for certain was that whatever evil that was hidden in that bunch of trees….was not there when I walked with someone. The path was not so scary…laughter drowned out the funny sounds…and the boogeyman stayed unseen.

Those drive homes from moving my kids to college were …to say the least…painful. I felt like a piece of my heart was stuffed into their packing tubs…and I felt the void.  There is this horrible ache…this empty space…that nothing can fill. Those were the times I wished I were not alone…I felt I was back in the woods…again…and what lies ahead of me…was beyond my capability.

My car was a capsule of pain…of longing to go back in time…to do this “motherhood” thing again…to be better prepared for…this. I thought I would be better the second go round…nope…I think it was worse. It was a lonely travel…made worse by me thinking I could do it…by myself. Wrong…very wrong.

I know after my husband left…and the house seemed too big…too quiet…but at the same time the walls felt like they were closing in on me…and the unknown future…screamed in my ear. Doubts assailed me…that choking feeling that perhaps it would be better to crawl back into bed…pull the covers up over my head…and wait out the next year or so until things “pan out”…like that would happen.

Phone calls began…people stopped by…invitations were presented to me. No one or nothing could take away the pain that was ahead…or sort through what I needed to do so that I could grow into the person I needed to be…but I felt hands reaching out to mine…my reminder…my God wink. This time I knew…I came to understand…that we weren’t meant to walk…alone.

This counts both ways. There are times that I have experienced pure joy…the kind you feel as if you are floating on air…and I know if I did not share it with someone….I just might burst. What fun is it…where is the glow…if we can’t relay our good news? It takes flight when you share…your heart is overflowing…so much so…that you have to find someone to pass it on to.

And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching. Hebrews 10:24-25

Come on people…we have GOT to get this together. If we don’t grab hold of the concept of sharing the journey….then we are not doing justice to what Christ proclaimed. He came to bring us life…not just ho-hum just getting by life…but an abundant one….and that means we are in this together.

holding-hands

He wants us to hold hands…be there for one another. This is not our final resting spot….my focus is what God has ahead for me…and I plan on sharing that journey. Let’s walk together…there are mountains…and there are valleys…but it is very passable…when you share it. We are all just walking each other home…and when I say home…I mean Home. Amen…and amen. Ms. O

2 thoughts on “We are all just walking each other home

Comments are closed.