Timely Decisions = Possible; Perfect Decisions = Impossible

By Vivian Wilson 

I am a recovering perfectionist, but I still tend to over think important decisions. The more important the decision, the more “stuck” I become.  Undermining my thought process is the fear of making the wrong decision. I have been in the place between recognizing the need to do something about a situation and actually acting on a solution to the challenge.

Fork In The Road

There are several issues at play here:

1. Fear.  Fear is not from God. It is an effective tool that Satan uses to stop forward progress and cause me to retreat, or at best stand still.

2. Pride. I think that I can actually come up with the perfect answer on my own even though I can not possibly see into the future, that some way I have control of my future.

3. Trust. It is actually lack of trust in the One who knows everything and has my best interest at heart according to His perfect plan. Some how I think that I know what’s best for me.

I am not saying that every decision should be made quickly but in a timely manner. I must be wise by first asking God for direction and then seeking Godly counsel.

Proverbs 4:11  “I guide you in the way of wisdom and lead you along straight paths”.

Proverbs 15:22  “Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisers they succeed”.

What I am saying is that decisions should be made with my hands open in surrender to the Father, with my eyes open and fixed on Jesus, and with my ears open to the voice of the Spirit.

Faith replaces fear when I seek God allowing me to experience the peace that only He can give.

You see, there are things that I know to be true. I can trust God because He loves me beyond what I can possibly understand, more than any one can.  He will never leave me or forsake me. He is all-knowing and all-powerful so I know that nothing can happen to me apart from His knowledge and control.

Psalm 52:8  “I will trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever”.

Psalm 56:4  “In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust. I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me?”

Last week I made a decision that I should have, could have, made weeks ago. After wrestling with the problem and a solution to the point of frustration, I finally came to my senses. I let go of it. I surrendered it to God and asked for direction. I listened to counsel from a friend and made a decision.  I don’t know if it is the “perfect” answer, but I do know that I have peace. I know that I don’t have to have the “perfect” answer, because God can and will use every situation for my good and His glory.

Hourglass

Psalm 32:8  “I will instruct and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you”.

There is only One who is perfect, and it isn’t me.

I want to make good decisions but when I am immobilized by the fear of not making the perfect one, it is a sure sign, a warning, that I am trying to take God’s place, that I have replaced Him with “I” on the throne of my heart.

NOT A GOOD DECISION!

So I will repent and surrender, trusting in my Savior.

A work in progress,

Vivian