The WOW Factor of God

By Ms.O

I have had plenty of “wow” moments in my life. You know what I am talking about…those times that are unexpected…take you by surprise…and you sit in awe. The “I didn’t see it coming” snatches that reintroduce you to the Maker of the Universe.

I always knew the “medical science” part of having a child. I read all the “what is happening to your body” books along with “what to expect when you are expecting”. In our natural childbirth…a term I say loosely since there is nothing natural about having a baby without being medicated….some thing that I did not have the advantage of with either of my children….they described what goes on with your body when you give birth. Nothing prepared me though for that moment…when I first saw my son…and my daughter…for the first time. That tiny piece of Heaven placed in my arms…brings about the awareness of the wondrous workings of God. It is like a private pow-wow with the Almighty…attesting to His awesome creation.

A few years back…on one of my “milestone” birthdays…my kids took me away to celebrate. I was ready for a fun filled weekend…figured they had something special planned out. What I was not ready for though was the surprise of having some pretty special people literally jump out of the closet….I kid you not…to join in for the festivity. It took me a good five minutes to catch my breath…to take it all in…and realize that this was what Heaven must be like…a gathering of loved ones…to celebrate the gift of family and friends. I still look back in wonder at that weekend…and see God’s handiwork…His touch…reminding me…that I am loved.

Last week I was given another glance of God…a blow to my senses…a tidal wave of emotion that I still can’t quite get over. In a very low part of my life…when I felt that if one more “thing” was to occur…it would surely be the final nail in my coffin…God reminded me…He has this…really…He does. I was greeted with news that was…still is…hard for me to receive. I am not good at that…it’s the truth. I am much better at giving…but for this…I would have to take the opposite side of the extended hand. I am surrounded by love…in the purest form…that gives me the original intent in His desire for us to take care of one another.

Even after that HUGE gift….God did some follow up with me. In a text from a parent of one of my youth…He spoke to me. He reminded me again through shared experiences with another friend…He knitted the commonality of family…His family. A well placed bundt cake with a sweet message was left on my door step…nothing like chocolate to say…you…are….loved. Messages of love from people that I share life with…a balcony of believers…was exactly what I needed…to look up…towards the Heavens…and thank God…that I don’t have to have it all figured out.

“I thank my God every time I remember you ”.. Philippians 1:3

This statement is a two-part thank you. For that great cloud of witnesses…testifying to God’s goodness…I thank our Father for you…because you have shown me…Him…in your kindness. Best of all…as I go to God with gratitude…I am reminded of Him…of His great love…because as I give thanks for you…I am speaking to God…with the assuredness that I am not lost…nor have I ever been. I just lost my footing for a bit…but it is all coming back to me. God is good…all the time…and all the time…God is good. Amen.

One thought on “The WOW Factor of God

Comments are closed.