2 Practical Steps That Will Put Your Gremlins to Rest

By: Gail Armatys, HeartSong Life Purpose Coach

There is one plot, one scheme that must be put to rest.

It is the “I’m not good enough conspiracy” called The Gremlin.

10353187_686470918113316_7500029233816431831_n

I’d like the gremlins – the ones that use the sound of our own voices to perpetuate this conspiracy – to melt away into nothingness…kind of like the Wicked Witch of the West after water is poured over her. The only difference is that she is a character of fiction and can easily be made to disappear. The gremlins, well, they are real and a bucket of water won’t suffice. We have to do some work to make them go away.

I don’t mean to scare you, but these gremlins are among the most destructive forces. And they are on missions of stealth, sent to destroy or at the very least – disable us.

Gremlins are quick to tell their lies. They are ever-present and available to implement their conspiracy as often and as subtly – or boldly as necessary.

Their goal? To convince you of the biggest lie ever. The lie that:

You.   Are.   Not.   Good.   Enough.

Why do they spread this lie? To keep us from growing, learning, sharing, and believing. Believing we are a worthy, loved, creation of God.

I think the gremlin jingle must go something like this:

Oh, what they will fear.

Oh, what they will not share.

Oh, what they will not do when

‘You are not good enough’

is what they hear.

Enter…the Truth. 

If I could do but one thing, I would, with my full armor on, kick these gremlins out of our minds forever. To add insult to injury, they would be made to speak the truth as they depart.

This, I imagine, would be most unsettling to the gremlins.  As they travel out the door on the road toward nothingness, their lies would burn away and they would begin to know defeat. Because there is nothing that can change the fact that…

you-are-good-enough-300x199

 

Stamped with the Image of God

Have you heard the gremlins?  They say things like, “I can’t.  I don’t know how. I’ll probably screw it up. They’ll laugh at me. They’ll see who I really am.  I’ll fail. They won’t like me.  It’s a stupid idea.  I deserve more. It should have been me. I’m not pretty enough, talented enough, skinny enough, smart enough.  I’m just not good enough.”

They put us right where they want us – chained to doubt, confusion, pride, and fear. Leaning on bad habits for comfort and living a small, selfish, and protected life.

Where do these gremlins come from?  They build their roads to us from past experiences, harsh or hateful words, cold laughter, disappointment and regret.

But what you must know is…they are lies.

All of them.

For you have been stamped with the image of God.

Everyone is of sacred value.

You are made for more because you are worth more…you have the image of

God stamped on you.

Pastor Ben Trammell

Listening and Hearing Matter

Gremlins are smart. They know how essential our hearing and listening is to living a meaningful life. Maybe they use the sound of our own voice to persuade because then we are likely to listen and believe.

Listening and hearing are so important that the Bible uses the word ‘listen’ 331 times and the word  ‘hear’ 347 times. In both instances, the majority of these passages in some way deal with listening to the Lord or hearing God’s word.*

What you hear and how you listen matter. No. More than that. What you hear and how you listen can either kill or bring to fullness your ability to live with joy, opportunity, momentum, and success.

What do you hear? The voice of the Gremlins disguised as your own? Negative, accusing, doubtful? Or do you listen for God’s voice – affirming, hopeful, true?

How to Stop the Gremlins

So how do we stop the gremlins – these thoughts?

  1. We put on our big girl armor and take the gremlins captive. (See Ephesians Chapter 6:10-17)
  2. We make them obedient to Christ.

Sounds kind of bold. It should. Because it is not my idea – it’s God’s.

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:5)

So in real life, how is this done?

When you hear the gremlins whisper their lies, confront them, stop and reverse the thoughts. Turn them to truth.

Armed with God’s word we can combat and change untruths and “I am not good enough” lies by saying/thinking statements such as:

‘I am made in the likeness of God. He has called me by name. I have been created to do good works so I can and will do them. Jesus loves me. He knows the plans he has for me and they are good. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I was born for such a time as this.’

Hearing and listening – even speaking truth increases our faith. We become stronger, more courageous and our joy more complete. The gremlins slink away, fewer and weaker. Now, rather than creeping in through the open door of our minds, they must push against the power of God’s word and his work of grace.

Won’t you send your gremlins away? Listen for a different voice. The voice of Truth covered in grace and embodied in scripture. The voice whose jingle sings,

You are beautiful.  

You are of sacred worth. 

You are loved. 

You are good enough.

Purpose Steps

  1. Write down negative, discouraging thoughts you hear throughout the day.
  2. Recall or read scripture that counters these thoughts. Write the scripture down.
  3. Review. Repeat.
  4. Smile. You’ve got gremlins on the run.

Purpose Prayer

Lord, thank you for your love, grace, and word that reveal the truth of who I am. Help me to take every thought captive as I step through my day. I pray to hear your voice, your word, and share your truth that with me we may live boldly the purposes and plans you have for our lives. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

*Taken from Bible.org

Listen to Your HeartSong Here!

Good Enough/Dara MacLean

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rh3QlOKh6xI

Live the song written on your heart