Absence Makes the Heart Aware

By: Vivian Wilson

Autumn Pumpkins With Leaves On Wooden Table

I love this time of year. I love the weather. That we actually have “seasons” in Texas is debatable to some who have experienced distinct and dramatic weather changes, but for me the season has more to do with the holidays than the temperature.

I love celebrating Thanksgiving and Christmas with my family. I love my family and it is quite large. It doesn’t consist only of my immediate, blood family, it also includes my brothers and sisters in Christ.

In the last few weeks I have been unable to attend services and activities at my church home for various reasons, (all good, I promise!). My absence has caused me to feel an emptiness in my life. Being away has made me aware that my family at Faith UMC is a very important and essential part of my life.

Why is that? I am in God’s Word daily. I praise and worship Him daily. I pray daily. I even sing…a lot. (Be glad you’re not around for that)!

So what do I need “church” for? Isn’t all this spiritual activity enough to make me complete?

The answer is NO. There is much in the Bible that teaches us how and why we are to relate to one another, so it must be important to Him and good for us. Just as we have responsibilities to one another in our “blood” family, so we have responsibilities to one another in the family to which we belong by the blood of Christ.

We gather in a building as the Body of Christ for teaching and fellowship and communion. (Acts 2:42-47)

We are admonished in Hebrews 10:25 to “not to give up meeting together”. Why? So that we may encourage one another. As members of God’s family we are responsible to:

Encourage one another: “Encourage one another daily…” Hebrews 3:13

Pray for one another: “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.” James 5:16

Build up one another: “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up.” 1 Thessalonians 5:11  

Love one another: “A new command I give you: Love one another.  As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” John 13:34

A young hand comforts and elderly hand

Honor one another: “Be devoted to one another in brotherly love.  Honor one another above yourselves.” Romans 12:10 

Spur on one another: “And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.” Hebrews 10:24  

You do these things, brothers and sisters. I have missed you, and I realize how grateful I am to be a part of our “Faith Family”. So in this season of Thanksgiving, I thank God for making me His and a part of His family. I thank Him for my parents, my siblings, my children and grandchildren, and for my church family at Faith.

Human hands in heart shape on bright background

I love you all.

A work in progress,

Vivian

2 thoughts on “Absence Makes the Heart Aware

  1. Viv, this is so very true! In this transition time of our lives it just kills me that we do not have a church home. We are just visiting churches and waiting on the Lord for our next ministry. I can tell you, though, that after missing church that one Sunday so that we could be in TX, it felt soooooo good to be in church the next Sunday — even if it wasn’t a church “home” for us.

Comments are closed.