Laughter is Good Medicine

By Vivian Wilson

It was a great weekend! I spent time with three of my four siblings and their spouses. (One of my brothers and his wife were in Europe and they were missed). My sister and her husband flew in from California and my brother and his wife drove from Kentucky to attend our youngest sister’s wedding.

She was a beautiful bride. The weather was perfect, which was a good thing since the ceremony was held on the lawn of their home on Lake LBJ. It was a day filled with much fun and laughter.

These are my sisters, Linda and Emily (the bride):

20141102_140610

One thing we “Collins Kids” do well when we are together is laugh. We laugh at each other and with each other. We laugh a lot. We laugh at ridiculous things; usually stuff that when retold, draws blank stares anticipating the punch line (which was missed), and a shrugging response of  “I guess you had to be there”.

It’s Monday. Everyone has gone home. I’m back to reality.

My “to-do” list is growing.

So as I sit here in the quiet this morning, reflecting on the contrast of the weekend and today, I am reminded anew of the important role that family, friends, and laughter play in my life. They satisfy the yearning in my soul to “belong”. And shared laughter lifts me up from the mundane concerns of daily life to the delightful moments of carefree mirth.

Scripture tells us in Proverbs 17:22, “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones”.

So I say, we should plan opportunities to enjoy laughter with family and friends. And we should look for opportunities to laugh at life in daily events. We should laugh at ourselves. (We don’t have to act like “grown-ups” all the time).

Laughter is a prescription for refreshment. And we all need to be refreshed.

I’ll share a photo-shopped image that my brother-in-law created of a band-saw to be delivered to my brother at the wedding.

comp2b

OK. I guess you had to be there.

A work in progress,

Vivian