Free Mulligans?

By: Vivian Wilson

Golf player at the tee box hitting ball

I played golf yesterday in the annual fundraising tournament held by the Houston West Emmaus Community. I had a great time. We didn’t come in last, the weather was perfect, and I won the longest drive for the ladies. (Before you get too impressed, I think you should know there were only four ladies playing.)

I’ve played in a few of this type of tournaments, but something happened this time that I have never experienced before. About an hour before the scheduled start, the weather became threatening. There was lightening and thunder and very strong gusty wind which blew out two power transformers, knocking out the power at the country club. Several hours later, there was still no power, but that didn’t stop the “show”. We had our meal, (I think the menu changed), silent auction, speaker, and live auction by candle light and lanterns.  It was pretty cool!  (Well not really, the AC was also not working.)

One thing I like about these tournaments is that I can purchase one or two, (of course I buy two!) mulligans. These allow me to have a “do-over” if I hit a bad shot or miss a putt. I get a second chance. Usually when I hit a bad shot or putt I know what I did wrong. So, the second try usually produces a better result. (I could have used at least 20 mulligans Monday).

Close-up Of A Golf Ball On A Green

Sometimes I wish I could buy a mulligan that would let me remake a bad decision or missed opportunity caused by my own fault or sin.

But you know something? I already have something better. It is GRACE. God gives me second chances all the time. I don’t have to buy it and I have as much as I will ever need.  And I can make the choice to learn and grow from mistakes that I make.

Reflecting on yesterday, it was a delightful day of fun and fellowship with brothers and sisters in Christ.  And looking past the surface, beyond the events of the day, I am reminded, given a picture, if you will, of God’s Truth.

Grace is free and offers us unlimited second chances.

Storms and darkness will come, but we are not alone and we have THE LIGHT that will enable us to persevere and come through the difficulty, no matter the obstacles, having joy in the journey.

So whatever the obstacles may be in my walk toward completeness, whatever hardship, I will persevere with joy and confidence, knowing that God’s grace is sufficient and limitless.

2 Cor. 12:9  “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness”                                                                                                                                  Heb. 4:16  “Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

Maybe if I practice a little more before next year I won’t need so many mulligans.

a work in progress,

Vivian