I Am Woman, I Am Invincible, I am Tired

By: Gail Armatys

HeartSong Life Coach

I didn’t know it, but I was in need of a Calgon moment.

imagesCAXLIKW5

Some of us certainly remember the product and the commercials that began running in the 70’s. If you were born in the 80’s it could ‘ring a bell’ because you vaguely remember telling your mom you think she needs one of those moments. (Probably not a good move.) If you are younger than that, well it’s what you and Wikipedia might call ‘vintage’.

Calgon, a bath product, was supposed to make you feel like you were living in the lap of luxury – not a care in the world. The tag line was, ‘Take me away, Calgon’. And it was spoken as though the harried momma crying out these words knew a quiet bath with Calgon was the last, good hope for her life to go on. That moment in the tub, with the bubbles, the scent, the soft water – that was the Calgon moment!

A Moment of Another Kind

I’d been working on a project that had a self-imposed deadline. The more I attempted to accomplish the work, the greater the barriers, hurdles, obstacles, the devil and his pranksters – they all kept me stuck – one after another. Day after day, nothing I did or tried was working. Computers, ideas, those helping me.  Nothing was coming together.

My frustration was mounting but all the while, believing God would fill me in on the details, I managed to keep going. Trying a different route – a new way. I am good at persevering but the mountain I built and that was mine to climb kept getting steeper. I was starting to STRESS!

It’s become very clear to me over the years that while I do not stress much, when I do it manifests itself in a rather passive way as more of a physical, internal tenseness. Do you know what I mean?  I usually don’t take it out on the cat or the dog. The husband?  Maybe.  Well, this time – the husband – definitely.

In a one minute phone call that my hubby took time to make in order to see how he could help; I lost it.  Nothing directed at him.  But every tiny bit of frustration came blowing toward him – out of my mouth like a cannon.  BAM!

Funny thing. My husband knows about Calgon moments, and he also knew I needed one. He had hinted at it. Our dog probably knew it.  And the cat, well of course, cats are not only above everything but they know everything. So she knew it. I knew it, too.

In a moment, my frustration sprayed like shrapnel – brief as it was.  Thankfully, no damage was done. The apology was quickly given and well received. But it wasn’t over. I had basically just been loud for a few long seconds. The momentum of my project hadn’t changed…until God saw to it mine did.

God In Control

My special momentum – changing moment came in the form of a 24 hour flu bug with headache, nausea, and fever. I was made totally incapacitated for a day.  I hurt so badly that I couldn’t stress about anything.  There would be no work or frustration about the work not working.  I couldn’t control it.  I was finally in rest mode.  Made to be still.

This, my friends, was my Calgon, take me away, moment.  Not like the commercial at all.

Be still, and know that I am God, I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth. Psalms 46:10

images-5

Here’s the reality of it: God knew all about our need for Calgon moments long before Calgon began its advertising campaign. And, he knows precisely when to for much needed moments of rest if we don’t take the opportunity to do so ourselves.

As I lay feeling crummy with a cool rag on my head, body shivering, and head pounding, I slept. Interestingly enough, it was the best sleep I’d had for awhile. Not surprising though. That’s how our loving God works. He graciously gives us the freedom to make our choices, politely suggests and nudges, and when necessary allows some stress or pain in – or even lets us cause our own – until we come to a place where all we can do is rest…in him.

Stressful situations, decisions, issues – big or small, he knows what we need and resting in him is at the top of the list. We can even do it in the tub with a little Calgon. Just be still. Rest.

Thanking God For Our Calgon Moments

Oh, and one more thing. We may be familiar with the ‘Be still, and know that I am God’ part of Psalms 46:10.  Rarely, though, do we hear the end of the scripture.  ‘I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.’ Maybe what he is telling us is this:  Not only are we to take time to stop and rest in the knowledge that he is, after all, God but also that he is in control and on our side. And for that, we shall praise his name.

Purpose Prayer

Father, thanks for always being on the lookout for us.  For leading us and nudging us  this way and that – and for stopping us when all we really need is to rest and know that you are in control.  We praise you for that and for your love, grace, and mercy that take us away with you so we may know you more and come back refreshed ready to follow you in our journey.

Purpose Steps

  1. Recognize and write down what/who is stressing you.
  2. Ask yourself why the source of the stress affects you?
  3. Take time to be alone with God.  Rest. Be still.
  4. In faith, pray for wisdom, knowledge and breakthrough, releasing control of the situation to God.
  5. Praise God for answered prayer, that he is in control, and for Calgon moments.

Listen to Your HeartSong:

Click Here: Be Still My Soul (in You I Rest)/Kari Jobe 

Live the Song Written on Your Heart.