15 Days From Mess to Restoration

Written by: Vivian Wilson

After 15 days, but who’s counting, they finished (and on time I might add). It was a MESS! My daily routine was so interrupted I felt displaced in my own home.

OK. I’ll explain. Twelve years ago we added additional living space to accommodate my mother-in-law who came to live with us until she went home to be with the Lord two years ago. The drought we had two years ago caused the new part of my house to “settle” which caused some “cracks” to appear in the sheet rock.

Room Addition

So I hired a company to repair the walls. These men were skillful, faithful to arrive on time and work diligently all day. They did not rush through the job but took pride in their craft desiring to do a good job.. But in this process of repair it was necessary for them to move all the furniture away from the walls, remove all wall hangings, cover the floors with brown paper, and cover everything else with clear plastic. There was a fine coat of dust all over everything.

The area that they were working on was the part of the house in which I “lived”. So I moved upstairs. At first it wasn’t a big deal because I was glad the repairs were being done and I was looking forward to the finished work. But as the days wore on, I became more and more uneasy and unsettled because I stopped looking forward to the beautiful end result of the work in progress. I began to be consumed by my discomfort and inconvenience.

I didn’t want to sleep upstairs, I wanted to be in my own bed. I wanted to sit in my “blue chair” to have my quiet time and drink my coffee. I didn’t want to walk on dusty brown paper. I was tired of lifting clear plastic in order to get my clothes out of dresser drawers. I didn’t want to walk around ladders and furniture in my closet. I wanted my “normal” life back.

Isn’t this a picture of life as a child of God sometimes? Life can be “messy’. We go through difficult times; we are promised that we will have trouble.

John 16:33  “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart!  I have overcome the world.”

There are times when it seems everything is out of place and not as it should be, times when we feel out of place. We experience times of inconvenience and sometimes grow weary of “adjusting” to circumstances trying to make the best of them.

But as always, we have a choice: we can focus on the “mess” or we can focus on the finished work. The truth is that as humans we all have “cracks”, we all are broken. But God is skilled at repairing brokenness and restoring his beloved children to wholeness.

Philippians 1:6  “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry ti on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus”.

This takes a while, (more than 15 days), but in the end we will be beautiful and complete. God is faithful and on time, using his time to complete his work perfectly.

I, on the other hand, wasted time that I could have been content.  But because I was focused on me, I was not content or at peace.  Next time, and there will be a next time, I pray I will remember this lesson. At the end of the 15 days the walls are beautiful and worth all of the inconvenience. I am sitting in my “blue chair” as I write this admiring my perfect walls.

The next time life gets “messy” I will put my hope in the Lord. I will remember this is part of the process to make me whole and complete, lacking nothing. And I will spend my time in grateful praise to my Maker, my Healer, my Restorer, and my Lord.

James 1:2-4  “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

A work in progress,

Vivian

2 thoughts on “15 Days From Mess to Restoration

  1. Well, you just THOUGHT you wrote this for you — it was really for me! Thank you — in light of our current circumstances, I really, really (and I mean really) needed this today!

Comments are closed.