The familiarity of living

Written by: Ms. O

There is something so comforting about familiarity. Perhaps it is because we are very well versed in something…tied to “something”…that is brings an instant recognition. It takes seconds…and it washes over you.

I don’t need to look…I don’t have to have more than one bite…I don’t even have to finish the bite…I just know. Janet Gonser…a wonderful friend of mine….makes the absolute best cinnamon rolls I have ever had…in my life…period. It takes me forever to finish that first bite…I don’t want to rush it…I have to savor it…because it truly is…manna from heaven.

When I hear the opening chords of “10,000 Reasons”…I go to another zone.  I am still listening…but it is more than hearing it…I am leaning into the words…the meaning…the pulling of my heart. It takes over my being…it is familiar…because it matches the calling of my soul…of what I want to live…daily. I can’t help but close my eyes…and live in to it.

There is something so all encompassing about the smell of the first cool front that rolls in…and I wait in anticipation for it to happen. What I love best is for it to come in during the night. In the morning I come to the back door….exhale all the air out of my lungs…swing open the door…and breathe in…literally…breath “it” in. The smell is so fresh…so crisp…so….Autumn. It never gets old…I can never rush it…it is a hesitation of love. It takes me back…I feel like I can still smell the leaves that fell off the tree in my front yard growing up in Delaware.

One thing…just one amongst many…that I love about Sunday mornings…is the familiar faces that come in. It is the gathering of God’s people…..my family by the blood of Christ…that makes me thank God that I can look left…right…center…and see someone that I have shared God’s love with. It is a touch of Heaven on Earth…and makes me glad I am part of that familiar.

Familiarity feeds the need to know that be are a part of something. It reminds us we are woven into the big picture…of memories that nurture us…and tie us to the past…as well as draw us into our future.

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. 1 Peter 2:9

To know I belong to Him…to be reminded I am chosen…that He saw me and called me out of the darkness….. of my own making…that humbles me…never gets old. As I begin each day, I have my quiet time with God…that familiarity speaks to me…telling me those same Words of love…so that I am confident in whatever the day brings. In my joy…I feel HIS joy radiating through me…I can’t help but cry. When I am in the depths of sorrow…I am not allowed to feel alone…because of that fact…. I accept His familiar embrace.

I thank God that He wired me the way He did. I have triggers…that involve all my senses…just so that I am able to appreciate each and every gift from above. You are my familiar…Lord God Almighty…and I will ever praise You. Amen.