The Sound of Silence

By: Ms. O

Hello darkness, my old friend,

I’ve come to talk with you again,

Because a vision softly creeping,

Left its seeds while I was sleeping,

And the vision that was planted in my brain

Still remains

    Within the sound of silence.

I have always loved that song. The opening strains of the guitar…the clarity in the duo singing it…the truth in the words.  I know it is a song from way…way…back. It came out when I was a toddler…but I heard it growing up…and it has stuck with me.

I just got back from a week long vacation with my daughter, one of my sisters and one of her daughters. We took a weeklong car trip to Florida…and back…then down to South Texas. Yes, it was an accomplishment, driving all those miles…and we have all agreed next trip we will save more money and fly. The bonus of the trip though was the sounds within our car. A constant stream of chatter…laughter…joking. It took the edge off the monotony of the long hours on the road.

photo-10

A week together….staying at the beach…then on to Baton Rouge for the night with my son and daughter-in-law….then on to Houston…then Portland…to spend the weekend with my parents.  We never ran out of things to talk about…laughter filled the days.

On Sunday, Mandy and I made our way home…to Houston…so I could drop her off…and then head to my own home. I walked into the back door…and was greeted with…silence. I took a deep breath…and settled back into it. That silence.

One of my annoying habits…that I have yet to break…is having the television on….all night. Call me a chicken…an electricity hog…it won’t change things with me. I don’t like to wake up in the middle of the night to silence. I have tried to wean myself off of it….but when I have done that…I wake up in the middle of the night…and the TV is not on…I wonder what woke me up…so I start to listen…to the strange sounds the house makes…and my imagination kicks in…so before it takes over…the TV is back on.

Lately though, I have come to realize that I can learn much from the silence. I went for my morning walk today…without my Ipod…don’t ask what happened to it…it gets me riled up…but it is gone. I was so used to having music pumping in my ears…that I did not realize that I was missing out on something….or more like…”someone”. As I walked out the door, I was greeted with silence…and instead of being uncomfortable…I felt a beckoning…from God…asking for my full attention.

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” Exodus 14:14

Ouch. I am taken back to when I was little…as a very figidity child…and my mother would ask if I could just be still….which I found most difficult. But as I walked this morning…in the silence…as in no music…no distractions…I could “hear” God. The background sounds were gone…and He could be heard. I know He is always there…but my own insistence in being surrounded by sound…I tend to miss His Words.

I know His desire for me is to be still…so He can work with in me…so that is my new focal point…spending intentional quiet time…so His voice is amped up. I can’t promise that I will ever get over the TV-on-all-night habit…I’ll try…but I can work on my morning routine of…turning off the noise of the world…and tuning in…to You oh Lord. Okay….I’ll be quiet now…ready…set…..quiet…

 

One thought on “The Sound of Silence

Comments are closed.