God’s “to-do” list is better than mine

Written by: Vivian Wilson

Where did May and June go? This year is going by so fast. It’s half over. I can’t believe it is July already. Before we know it the fireworks stands will be open for business again so that we can welcome the new year in with a bang!

When I was a kid, time seemed to move so slow. Now, it seems like I can blink and a whole week has gone by. It seems that there are not enough hours in the day to accomplish all the things that I have listed on my “to do” list.

There is definitely something wrong with this picture!

While I am busy doing some “good” things, I wonder if, in fact, I am being distracted from doing the thing that God would have me do. There are “red flags” such as being tired, stressed at times, overwhelmed, and even unmotivated. I don’t believe that God intended for us to be so busy with our own agenda that we never got around to doing the “good works which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Eph.2:10. According to this verse we are a “work of art” created to do the work that sovereign God purposed for each of us.

I am a list maker. I get a feeling of accomplishment as I check off each completed task. What if I am busy doing things that are not on the “list” that God has prepared for me? For one thing, I have wasted a lot of precious time on things that have no eternal value. I am sure that everything on God’s “list” for me will survive the fire that will test the quality of my work. 1Cor.3:12-15.

Let me say that I am talking about being busy. I am not saying that we should not enjoy recreation or fun activities.

So, what would God have me do? I think the answer is Matt.11:28-30.

Come to me, all who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and My burden is light.

He would have me go to Him and He will give me peace. Take His yoke, choose to surrender, obey, and let Him be in control of my life. Learn from Him. Learning is a process that takes time. In this process life is simplified and centered on Christ. We will find a deeper peace and our trust in Him will grow.

20140907_174057

So when I experience the “red flags” of a busy life that is not producing eternal fruit—fatigue, stress, feeling overwhelmed and unmotivated, I will go to Him, surrender my will and my plans and trust Him.

It is amazing how time slows down a little and my life is more peaceful.

A work in progress,

Vivian