3 Steps Toward A Life of Purpose

by: Gail Armatys

Life Purpose Coach/Facilitator

HeartSong Life Purpose Coaching Center

I’ve been praying about the topic for this blog. But, as I sit rereading the few paragraphs I’ve written I sense I am to move in another direction. Delete, delete, delete.

Originally, I thought I would write about how it’s finally fall. We know this not because of the cool breezes we feel here in Texas, but because it is football season!  Whoop! And Go Big Red! (Oops…just came tumbling out!)

Next, I’d write how with it being football season and all, I could easily compare the game to the contest of life contrasting all the common themes such as preparation, plans, strategies, teammates, and coaches.

Following this theme, I’d talk about how the equipment for football is reminiscent of the armor scripture tells us to wear in order to prepare, protect, and fight the battles of life. I even found a great photo of Joan of Ark-type armor to help me visualize the scripture.

Gail_armor

 

Anyway….

Then, I was going to remind everyone how we can and should ‘put on the full armor of God so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand’. (Eph. 6:13)

Ultimately, I was going to say that this day of evil mentioned above may come to us in the form of deceit, anxiety and/or reactions due to circumstances that are uncomfortable or absolutely devastating, lack of faith, impure motives, jealousy, pride, deficiencies in compassion and love, the list goes on. In short, evil includes all those things that cause us to stumble. In another word; sin.

So there it is. This is what I am to write about.

Sin. Yuk.

I hope you didn’t just roll your eyes and click away! Because this may absolutely be what is keeping you, or someone you know and love, from the joy in which God intended you (or him/her) to live.

Addressing sin isn’t judgment. It’s a fact. We do it.

And sometimes we try to hide it. Yet, God knows.

He sees. In love, He patiently waits.

To sin means to fall short, a deliberate choice to turn from God. That choice may be made in a split second or with much consideration. Either way, we decide. These kinds of decisions (sins) often keep us stuck, confused, out-of-sorts, feeling hopeless, at a loss, or fearful. Sin also keeps us from moving forward and accomplishing the plan God has for our lives – our purpose – because we have broken relationship with our Holy God.

Women (men, too) desiring to live fully must remove this stumbling block from their lives. To ignore sin, is to willfully take a detour…sometimes a very long one.

Remember how Jonah ran away from the Lord because he did not want to go to Nineveh as God directed?  Jonah’s next adventure ended up in a very dark, murky, confusing, and scary place – the belly of a whale!

Actually, it’s like that with us, probably without the whale though. When we sin, things get murky, confusing, and often down right scary.

Maybe not at first. But let sin hang around awhile and life becomes harsh and meaningless. The real joy of life gets sucked out like water through a whale’s blowhole!

It took me a long time to learn that my character formation (less sinning, more repenting, and greater obedience) was far more important to God than anything I could ever hope to accomplish for him.”

-Katie Brazelton, Pathway to Purpose

Think about the Samaritan woman who went to draw water from the well and met Jesus there. He knew of and addressed her sin. How is this possible? Once he revealed himself to her as the Messiah, she ran into town and began sharing her story. “Many of the Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony.” (John 4:38)

Could it be she was then freed from her sin and able to begin fulfilling her purpose?

the-woman-at-the-well-a-closer-look-at-john-4130-part-1

 

Admitting our wrongs and receiving the cleansing grace of God changes us.  This step of repentance always comes first. If we don’t confess, we remain unchanged. If we don’t change, we cannot accomplish the good works ‘which God has prepared in advance for us to do.’ (Eph. 2:10)

When we humbly repent, the confusion and darkness is lifted and we become more like Christ. Then, we begin to reflect God’s love and accomplish the purposes He has for our lives.

Hey, thanks for sticking with me through this one! I think we’ve come full circle!

–   We recognize and admit our sin.

–   We seek help and forgiveness.

–   We put on the armor of God.  (Eph. 6)

Then when people, options, and circumstances that create opportunities to sin come barreling toward us or just as surely subtly whispering alongside us, we can boldly push on and through to continue down the path God has planned for us in advance.

Prayer

Oh, my Lord, thank you that I can come humbly yet boldly before you seeking your forgiveness. Please forgive my sin against you and those you have placed in my life. I am sorry for my selfish pride, my jealousy, and my disobedience. (Or whatever fits for you here.) Help me to move forward in full armor down the path you have prepared for me. Strengthen me to fight against sin and all that would keep me from you and the best life you have for me. Oh, how I need you, Lord. In Jesus’ holy name, Amen.

Purpose Steps

  1. Ask Jesus to help you recognize your sin and live out His will for your life.
  2. Repent of any anger, pride, dishonesty, envy, fear, disobedience, other, and pray to replace this sin with peace, love, hope, selflessness, truth, etc.

3.  Put on your armor.  (Look it up!  Eph. 6)

Listen to Your HeartSong

Click the link: Lord, I Need You – Chris Tomlin

Live the Song Written on Your Heart