Consecration Concentration………and a Coke

Written by Rhonda Sue Page

Did a little shopping this week. I’d like to be able to tell ya that I don’t get too worked about shopping……..but it’s not true. I love the excitement of finding a good deal. I’m a complete sucker for anything fun. And the thrill of the hunt can keep me in the game alllllll day, Baby.
This one was pure genius on Coca Cola’s behalf.

photo

I worked hard to find all of my family’s names to share with them…………Nailed It.

 

*sigh*

 

This got me to thinking just how often I may be guilty of looking for the next most exciting thing in other areas of my life. The next bestseller, the next big blockbuster, or dare I admit the next most awesomest bible study?

My devotional this morning was on consecration. (The practice of becoming set apart for God’s purposes.) The line I just couldn’t tear my eyes away from was this:

“All of us want to do amazing things for God, but that isn’t our job;”   (GASP…say what?!!)
“….it’s God’s job. Our job is to simply consecrate ourselves by yielding our will to His will. And if we do our job, God will do His job….amazing things will happen.” *

I gotta admit, that shook me up a bit. It also started a shift in my thinking. It’s like my head knew immediately that the statement was true…..but my insides felt like challenging it anyway. They screamed “C’mon God! Give me something to do……but don’t ask me to depend on you to do it. Let me try………..but don’t make me trust!”

Trusting is hard stuff for me. I realize now that it has a lot to do with just being okay to be still and wait on God. The enemy had me convinced that that would be boring.

I wonder…just wonder how many amazing things I’ve missed by not cooperating fully with God. Seeking excitement instead of seeking His face.

It’s not wrong to want to do great things for God……….It’s not wrong to enjoy shopping……..It’s not even wrong to write that letter to Coke complaining that they don’t print your name on their bottles. But it IS all about focus.

I want to enjoy life but not get so caught up in the stuff that I forget He is my sole purpose for living, loving………. and sharing a Coke.

 

Love,

Rhonda Sue  (NOT found on a coke bottle near you)

 

* Draw the Circle – 40 day prayer challenge by Mark Batterson