Kicking the bucket

Written by: Ms. O.

I have often wondered…I do that a lot…where certain idioms come from. We use them all the time….but if you think about what you are saying…and I do that from time to time…they don’t make sense….unless you know the origin.

I hear many people talk about their bucket list…what they will do before they “kick the bucket”….and it got me thinking….what in the world does that mean??? So, Wikipedia here I come…to check it out. Kick the bucket comes from a method of execution where the person would stand on a bucket and have a noose tied around their neck. The executioner would then “kick the bucket” out from under you….and then you would die. Sounds like a not so fun day to me…but it made me think of my own bucket list.

I can honestly say I don’t have a bucket list written down anywhere. I have done things with the premise of knowing it was something I want to do before I die…so I guess that counts…right?

When I was young, I wanted to ride a horse. I was not born in the country…never been around a horse…but I was determined to ride one. I got my chance when I was in high school…a friend asked me to be part of a trail ride…on the beach. Sounds simple…calm…relaxing…until I got on that beast…and it took off…with me on it. It was after someone caught up with me…took the reigns…and stopped me…and the horse…that I was told his name was…Flame. Go figure. Check that off my bucket list…never to be done…again.

My father had two rules that I chose to obey….no tattoos…and never ride on a motorcycle. No tattoo was easy…I have a deep fear of needles…but the other had me yearning for a ride. My desire was to have someone give me a ride…yes, I got smart this time…before I was to turn 40. My best friend, unbeknownst to me, arranged a ride with Ken Caminiti…on his very loud…very fast motorcycle. I was scared silly…but loved every minute of it…and since that day, have gotten a ride from two other people. Check, check and check.  (I did end up calling my dad to confess…some things don’t change…)

I love to travel and there are places I have wanted to visit and have been blessed in saying I’ve been. Hawaii…check…Alaska….brrrr, check…Disney World…and Land…check, check…California…check…a few times…Paris…oui…Venice and Rome…check (don’t know Italian)…Scotland…a huge check…and London…a jolly check! I have put my foot in the Atlantic Ocean, Pacific Ocean, and the North Sea…along with a few other bodies of water.  Places that I go to…I breathe in…so as to remember it…as I tick away my want-to-see wish list.

No, I have never sat down and written a list per-say. It has merely been my inclination to live life to the fullest. The first time we lose someone, we come to realize how precious life truly is. I have gone to quite a few funerals in my lifetime…have said my final farewell to both young and old. Those that knew that they were in their final days, were intentional in how they lived their final days. Those who did not, have had life cut short…but even though they did not live what we would consider a long life…they lived daily to the fullest.

I am going old school…or more like Old Testament…on you:

“This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live.” Deuteronomy 30:19

I chose life…the one He gives me each day. It has been a hard lesson to learn for me…to know that to have a full life…I relinquish my own fears…and self-centeredness…to Him…so He can bless me with new experiences. I spent too many years with my toes to the line…worried over “what if’s”…and missed out on many things. I don’t ever want my kids to think of their mother as a chicken at heart…more so, someone who trusts God enough to chose….life…Him…over any and every thing. I truly don’t need a bucket list…God presents to me each day new challenges and opportunities…that when the day is done…He leans in to whisper, “…cross that one off…we did it.” Amen and amen.. Ms. O