Dear Fear, You Are Not Dear

Dear Fear,

You are not “dear”.  

I see you, and I am angry at what you have done.  You cruelly hold hope from those that need it most by whispering unending doubt.  You blind their eyes to the truth of God’s trustworthiness…… even as you question that His love is not enough to sustain them in their circumstance.  You torment them that devastation is upon them until anxiety starts to feel like their new normal.  You unfairly demand guarantees that cannot be given if they are ever to learn to walk by faith. In this way, you try to steal their future to become all that they were meant to be.

Also, you are a coward.  

You hide in places that cannot be seen and use the shards of brokenness to rip away peace until all that is left is does not appear beautiful or worth it.

From this place I hear them cry, “Please someone, help me! I can’t live like this”

I have honestly never felt more helpless with you at the wheel in the lives of the people I love, or more insecure with you running rampant in the world in which I live.

You puff yourself up to intimidate and torment their thoughts..…..with no other agenda than to  hold them back from reaching for grace.  

If Jesus were here……..you wouldn’t get away with it.

If Jesus were here……..He’d put you in your place.

If Jesus were here……..He’d speak Peace and send you screaming back to the pit you’ve dug for them.

If Jesus were here……..He’d reassure them that miracles can be trusted because they come from the heart of The Father.  In His Kingdom miracles are normal……brokenness isn’t.

If Jesus were here…….His presence alone would carry healing for the mental anguish you’ve wrought and the dis-ease it’s brought to the body.

If Jesus were here……..He’d…….

……Wait, hang on.  Did you hear something?  

Hold that thought Fear…….. I thought I heard knocking.  Why, yes….

Someone’s knocking on the door of my heart.  

Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.  Revelation 3:20

For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who his children really are. Romans 8:19