The greatest factor that influences your contentment is…

Written by: Amy Dalke

Grab your coffee, and lean in closely today. Because what we’re talking about here, well, it’s the stuff that will change your life.

Christian Schwarz, a German theologian, researcher, and church consultant, spent many years of his life studying people and churches. His most renowned research was on church health and development, where he collected 4.2 million pieces of information from one thousand churches in thirty-two countries. He used this information to develop what he determined were the eight quality characteristics of church health.

What? You didn’t wake up on this fine Monday morning, eager to study the principles of church growth? Neither did I, so stay with me because here comes the good stuff…

One of the most interesting corollary results of Schwarz’s research was the discovery that:

No single factor influences the contentedness and joy of a Christian more than whether or not they are functioning within their giftedness.

You and I were put on this earth, during this set time period, for a specific, unique purpose. The greatest joy and contentment we’ll ever experience is when we actively function within that God-given purpose. Period.

The most gigantic desire of my own heart (okay, at least the 2nd most gigantic) is to help you understand how God shaped you…how He molded YOUR amazing life into one incredible, one-of-a-kind person.

The awesome thing is, you and I have the perfect opportunity to get together for this very reason! The women’s ministry at FUMC is thrilled to invite you to a 2-session workshop called S.H.A.P.E., where we will use an adapted version of a program developed by Rick Warren of Saddleback Church in California. This workshop will help you discover who you are…and what you were made for…and what that even means for your real, everyday life.

I’m confident that you will mark these two Sunday afternoons as pivotal moments in your life. That’s awfully bold to throw out there, I know. But even if we haven’t actually met face-to-face, I really feel like we’re good friends. (Hopefully that isn’t discomforting to you. I’m really not a stalker. Promise.) Keeping my friend-love for you in mind, picture me holding onto your two arms with my two hands as I say this to you,

God wants to show YOU some amazing things about YOU. He tailor-made YOU to live a life that matters. So please don’t miss this opportunity. Do everything you can to discover how God made YOU extra special. Because you need to understand…and know…with every ounce of your being that YOUR life makes a significant difference.” 

Take a peek at this:

Set your calendars for Sunday, September 28, and Sunday, October 5, at 3:30-5:30pm on both days. Keep an eye out for registration information.

In the meantime, if you have any questions, contact Meredith Pennington at meredith.pennington@faithumc.org; or you can comment on this post, and one of us will reply as soon as possible.

I’m so looking forward to this.

Your new stalker-like friend,

Amy

p.s. I know that 2 hours for 2 Sundays is a lot to ask. If you have any inkling to go, but the time commitment is the piece that holds you back, I beg you to dive in headfirst anyway. You won’t be disappointed. (And we’ll have coffee, cookies, cheese, and crackers. So there’s that.)

p.p.s. I hope you know I’m kidding about the stalker thing.

One thought on “The greatest factor that influences your contentment is…

  1. This sounds like an awesome study, Amy! And what a solid truth that I’ve never thought about, that our contentment as Christians is found in doing what we were made to do. Duh! That makes perfect sense. Love this…and love you. xoxo, mb

Comments are closed.