I’m Gorgeous Inside!

Written by:

Gail Armatys, HeartSong Life Purpose Coaching Center

Gorgeous

A few days ago, and for the first time in my many sightings, I was struck by the thought that this realtor’s sign I drive by nearly every day might actually be saying something to me – even if I’m not in the market for a new home.

What I heard in my heart as I drove by yet again was this: “I’m gorgeous inside. Me. Yes, me. I’m gorgeous inside.”

Yikes! What? Who said that? Did I really hear that? Do I dare say, admit, and (gasp) …believe it? What was God saying? Was He telling me to accept the beauty He planted and is growing within me?

I must admit, I had to look in the rear-view mirror to see if anyone was playing a prank on me. No prank. Instead, the Holy Spirit gently reminded me that after selecting the ruddy, young shepherd, David, to be anointed as king of Israel God told Samuel, ‘The Lord does not look at the things man looks at.  Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart. ‘ (1Samuel 16:7)

Most frequently it seems we project this scriptural wisdom onto others as we learn to accept them as different from our expectations and ourselves. But, I wonder if we shouldn’t claim such a story for our own lives as well. Is it possible for us to look at who we are on the inside and rather than criticize, see that we are truly beautiful in the eyes of God? (Who, by the way, has the only opinion that matters.)

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. (Psalms 139:13-14)

As a creation of Christ made exactly as He planned, purposed and desired, you must agree with David, and in all humility say, ‘Yes, I am beautiful!’ By the amazing grace of God, no matter what the world has taught you to believe, Truth says this: You Are Gorgeous Inside!

Prayer

Father, I praise your name and thank you for creating me. Thank you for the daily signs you provide of the beauty within me. Please forgive me when I am not as convinced as you are that I have been made in every way to fulfill your special purposes. Thank you that I can take negative thoughts of myself captive to you and know that your love and your word change my wrong thinking to godly thinking. I acknowledge that you know me inside and out and that you are intentional about every move you make and everything and person you create. Help me to see through your eyes as I seek to mirror your vision and joyfully accept the gift of ‘ME’ from you!  I praise you for making me GORGEOUS inside! In Jesus’ holy and precious name, Amen.

Purpose Step

Have you taken time to notice the daily signs that reveal your Christ-like beauty? No? They are there. Did you forgive someone today? Do or say something kind? Smile? Share a Hug? Say something nice to or about yourself? Take time to pray?

Beginning today, identify and write down at least one signpost of your inward beauty each day this week.  Then, praise God for His revelation! 

My experience is that some days these signs are easier to recognize than others. That’s when I take a deep breath and refocus on Christ. Then, I hear it. Do you? Truth whispers to my heart, ‘Believe me. You really are gorgeous inside.’

Listen to Your HeartSong

Through My Father’s Eyes (Holly Starr)

 

Live the dream written on your heart.

One thought on “I’m Gorgeous Inside!

Comments are closed.