My eyes are on you…

Written by: Ms. O

“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.” Colossians 3:23

You would think this passage would give me some relief….that I am not living up to the expectations of men…or women. What I do is not meant to serve mankind.

Some of my most fretful times are when I worry about pleasing others. Growing up, I wanted to please my parents….at least until I got to my rebellious teenage years when I did not care about pleasing anyone…but me.

When I was in elementary school, I truly tried with all that was inside me to be teacher’s pet. I wanted so badly to please them. I think the cards were stacked against me though. One of my most obvious traits was my ability to talk…non-stop. I really did not care if anyone was listening…I could just as easily talk to a wall. My teacher would move my desk away from everyone…thinking it would keep me quiet…hmmm…no. I would just keep conversation…with me.

As I got into my preteen/ teenage years, I did my best to please my friends. I wanted so much to be accepted that I would change myself so that I would be liked. The problem with that situation is…I was not “me” anymore. I was the creation of who I was hanging out with at the time. As we all find out…when we struggle out of those awkward years…is that the opinion of our friends at that time….does not amount to much. We are all going through the same things…same struggles…growing pains…so why in the world would I give weight to their opinion….crazy…typical…still the same.

I wonder if this truly changes though as we age. I like to liked…and I don’t know if that will ever change. I am a pleaser…that is for sure…and I can find myself falling into that same trap.

Reading this passage taken out of the letter from Paul to the church is Colosse, I am brought into a different arena. Instead of a horizontal view of who I am pleasing, I have a vertical pulling that draws my eyes Heavenward. That is where my focus is supposed to be.

Hello….that may seem like a no brainer…but it is totally the opposite. I can’t “fake it” with God…I can’t “perform” for Him…He needs nothing from me. But He also does not desire empty promises…endless rambling with no content…just to hear myself talk.

It truly changes my thoughts…the way I begin my day…how I will represent Him….since I am called His child. This is where the wonder of God comes fully into view. When my focus is solely on Him…when whatever I do is FOR HIM…blocking out everything BUT Him….it has a domino effect on those around me.

I am no longer looking out for me…I am singly serving God…and others are drawn to that light…seeking out that same genuine relationship…and harmony happens. We find true joy in family and friends….because it is based on truth.

So I’m putting on my spiritual blinders, Lord…to focus on YOU…so nothing hinders me…from serving YOU….because I know YOU will take care of the rest…that is not my worry. Here we go Lord…my eyes are on You…amen and amen.

Ms. O