Hide n’ Seek – Seek n’ Find

Written By: Rhonda Sue page

He reveals the deep and hidden things; He knows what is in the darkness, and light dwells with Him. Daniel 2:22

I love to sit and think on God. James tells me I think too deeply. Sometimes I suspect he supposes I’ll hurt myself. But I can’t help it, I love to mentally search. In fact, maybe search is a better word for what I do.
It’s different from looking to comfortably box God in and make him fit ……… or get angry when I can’t.
Instead I’ve come to love the challenge of seeing what the world sees and finding a way to conform it to how God sees it. Mostly I find I try to do this by filtering circumstances through God’s character.

“Why?” you ask.

This activity feeds my spirit because it helps me stay in agreement with him no matter what I’m facing. I’ve been doing this just long enough to realize that it’s THE most powerful position I’ll ever hold in this life. It’s less about knowing who I am rather than knowing who He is…… and that He’s taking me where I need to go.
And to be frank, it goes a long way toward keeping me walking in peace and staying out of fear.

Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’ Jeremiah 33:3

Sometimes I’m floored by the brokenness. The effects of sin in the world seem to know no bounds. The mistakes of others affect even the innocent. So I try to take the “hard” stuff like shootings in schools, abuse toward the weak, rejection of the young, violence bred from greed……..The “unfair” stuff like teens killed in car wrecks, cancer found in children, premature babies that never make it out of the hospital………..anything and everything that leaves me wondering “WHY?”……..

I take it to the feet of Jesus. I sit there for as long as it takes to get it off my chest. When I’ve laid it bare……….the real work begins. Will I move past the anger, the pain and the fear to look up? Will I make my mind focus on the One who loves me with an everlasting love………or will I stay stuck?

For years I stayed stuck.

Maybe on occasion, I even blamed God and laid the fault at his feet. The thing is, that helped NO ONE…. except the enemy.  Satan’s plan for keeping me stuck, anxiously doubting God………… also kept me down and out for the count. What good is a bitter Christian? The godless don’t need more of that. See, I could not carry that incorrect image of God and carry the Hope of God as well. I needed a better understanding of Him.

So, I began to study what God had to say about Himself. The first step was to trust that he would not lie. It’s not rocket science. Even 8 year olds understand: If God can lie……….he cannot be trusted.

What I really had deep on the inside of me was a trust issue.

The bible has so much to say about God, His character and attributes. God’s word is his introduction to himself. Getting to know about God leads us to the deeper relationship of getting to know God and even greater……allowing ourselves to be known by Him.

I have not spoken in secret, from somewhere in a land of darkness; I have not said to Jacob’s descendants, ‘Seek me in vain.’ I, the LORD, speak the truth; I declare what is right. Isaiah 45:19

I pray that if this is where you find yourself…….at the crossroads of deeper trust and the uncertainty of these times ……That, you too, will find yourself more often taking those issues to the feet of Jesus and hanging out there for the peace that passes understanding. There is great Hope in the earth and it begins there. You were created for amazing things. One of those things is to carry that Hope.

Don’t be frightened to search the deeper mysteries of God. Seeking Him is an exciting adventure your spirit craves and finding Him feeds the gaping hole that’s been inside you since the day you left being formed in His hands to be born.

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. Matthew 6:33

 

Rhonda Sue

One thought on “Hide n’ Seek – Seek n’ Find

Comments are closed.